26 Sept 2022

WATCH: UL power into Fitzgibbon Cup final against DCU

UL power into Fitzgibbon Cup final against DCU

UL centre forward Kevin O'Brien

THE Gary Kirby managed UL powered into the Fitzgibbon Cup final this Tuesday evening with a 4-16 to 0-19 win over IT Carlow.

The Limerick college will now play DCU in the Third Level Senior Hurling Championship Final on Saturday February 24 in Mallow.

In the other semi final, this Tuesday evening, DCU had a 2-20 to 1-12 win over DIT. DCU are managed by Foynes native Eoin Roche and have Conor McSweeney (South Liberties) in their team. 

UL lined out with six locals in their team – David McCarthy (Glenroe), Sean Finn (Bruff), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Barry Murphy (Doon).

Just days after his 14-point return for Na Piarsaigh in their All Ireland club SHC semi final, Ronan Lynch was introduced as an opening half sub, while Pat Ryan (Doon) was used in the second half.

UL were 1-12 to 0-10 ahead by half time and hit three second half goals to book their spot in the final.

The first half goal came from Jason Forde.

In the second half John McGrath and Pat Ryan hit quick-fire goals to move the Limerick side 3-14 to 0-15 ahead.

In the final minute, Forde scored his second goal from a penalty.

Barry Murphy and Tom Morrissey each scored one point from play.

SCORERS: UL: Jason Forde 2-5 (1-0pen, 0-2frees, 0-1 ‘65), John McGrath 1-4, Pat Ryan 1-0, Tony Kelly 0-3, Ian Galvin 0-2, Tom Morrissey and Barry Murphy 0-1 each. IT Carlow: Martin Kavanagh 0-8 (5frees), Cathal Dunbar and Mark Russell 0-3 each, Colin Dunford and Richie Leahy 0-2 each, Jack Fagan 0-1.

UL: David McCarthy (Glenroe, Limerick); Aidan McGuane (Clare), Conor Cleary (Clare), Sean Finn (Bruff, Limerick); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks, Limerick), Barry Heffernan (Tipperary), David Fitzgerald (Clare); Tony Kelly (Clare), Paul Maher (Tipperary); Ian Galvin (Clare), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell, Limerick), Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick); John McGrath (TIpperary), Jason Forde (Tipperary), Barry Murphy (Doon, Limerick). Subs: Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick) for Fitzgerald (25mins), Pat Ryan (Doon, Limerick) for Murphy (39mins), Mike Mullins (Galway) for Maher (54mins), Stephen Roche (Galway) for O’Brien (60mins).

IT CARLOW: Enda Rowland (Laois); Shane Reck (Wexford). Kevin Hannafin (Kerry), Ross Brown (Waterford); Michael Redmond (Wexford), James Doyle (Carlow), Michael Harney (Waterford); Colin Dunford (Waterford), Richie Leahy (Kilkenny); Sean Downey (Laois), Martin Kavanagh (Carlow), Charles Dwyer (Laois); Mark Russell (Tipperary), Jack Fagan (Waterford), Cathal Dunbar (Wexford). Sub: Seamus Casey (Wexford) for Downey (48mins).

REFEREE: Cathal McAllister (Cork).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.