Three Munster stars to start for Ireland 20s in France

Three Munster starlets to start for Ireland 20s in France

David McCarthy Garryowen, named in the Irish 20's side for their trip to France

Ireland U-20 coach Noel McNamara has named the Ireland U20s side to take on France in the opening game of the U20 Six Nations, this Friday at the Stade Chaban Delmas in Bordeaux at 9pm local time.

Only three Munster players make the starting fifteen with UL Bohemian's James McCarthy on the wing, joined by David McCarthy in the backline, at centre. 

Jack O'Sullivan, from UCC, is the sole Munster forward to make the pack, starting at numnber 8

In the front-row, props Jordan Duggan and Jack Aungier will start alongside hooker Ronan Kelleher. Cormac Daly and Jack Dunne are named in the second row, with Matthew Dalton ahd Aaron Hall  in the back row.

Scrum-half Jonny Stewart will partner out-half Harry Byrne, Captain Tommy O’Brien lining out in the centre.

Michael Silvester is at full-back, with James McCarthy and Peter Sullivan on the wings.

Ahead of the side departing for France, McNamara said;

"We’ve had a good build up over the past few months, and it’s an exciting time for the players as well as the coaching team.

France is never an easy place to go to play, and we’re expecting a large and noisy crowd at the game, but it’s a good challenge for the players everyone involved is looking forward to getting the campaign underway on Friday night.”

The match will be broadcast live by RTE, with kick-off at 8pm (Irish time).

Ireland U20 v France U20, U20 Six Championship, Stade Chaban Delmas, Bordeaux. Kick-Off: 9.00pm (local time) / (8.00pm Irish time)

15. Michael Silvester (Dublin University/Leinster) (4)
14. Peter Sullivan (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) (0)
13. David McCarthy (Garryowen/Munster) (4)
12. Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC/Leinster) (5) Captain
11. James McCarthy (UL Bohemian/Munster) (0)
10. Harry Byrne (UCD RFC/Leinster) (0)
9. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster) (10)
1. Jordan Duggan (Naas/Leinster) (4)
2. Ronan Kelleher (UCD/ Leinster) (8)
3. Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster) (0)
4. Cormac Daly (Clontarf FC/Leinster) (0)
5. Jack Dunne (Dublin University FC/Leinster) (0)
6. Matthew Dalton (Malone RFC/Ulster) (0)
7. Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster) (0)
8. Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster) (0)
16. Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen FC/Munster0 (1)
17. James French (UCC RFC/Munster) (0)
18.Tom O’Toole (Banbridge RFC/Ulster) (0) 
19. Ronan Coffey (Shannon RFC/Munster) (0)
20. Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht) (4)
21. Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf FC/Leinster) (0)
22. Angus Curtis (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster) (1)
23. Angus Kernohan (Ballymena RFC/Ulster) (0)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.