Four Munster stars named in Ireland side to face Argentina

Donn O'Sullivan


Donn O'Sullivan


Four Munster stars named in Ireland side to face Argentina

CJ Stander and Chris Farrell at training in Carton House this week

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has named his final match day squad of the 2017 Guinness Series as Ireland take on Argentina at the Aviva Stadium. There is one new cap in the starting XV. 

Four Munster men made the starting XV with centre Chris Farrell replacing the injured Robbie Henshaw at 13.  UCD's Adam Byrne will win his first cap for Ireland on the right wing on Saturday with Rob Kearney at fullback and Ulster's Jacob Stockdale alongside him in the back three.

Jonathan Sexton and Conor Murray resume their partnership in the half backs. Rory Best returns to captain the team and is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong while James Ryan starts in the second row with Iain Henderson.

Peter O'Mahony, Sean O'Brien and CJ Stander return to the backrow. The replacements are James Tracy, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Devin Toner, Rhys Ruddock, Luke McGrath, Ian Keatley and Andrew Conway.

Ireland team & replacements (v Argentina, Guinness Series 2017, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, November 25th, 5.30pm)

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 77 caps
14. Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)*
13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 1 cap
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 1 cap
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster) 67 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 58 caps
1.Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 72 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 105 caps Captain
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 18 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 3 caps
5. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 33 caps
6. Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 41 caps
7. Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster) 50 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 17 caps

16. James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 21 caps
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 10 caps
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 52 caps
20. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster) 18 caps
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
22. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 6 caps
23. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 5 caps

*Denotes uncapped player