Ardscoil Ris into Harty Cup quarter finals as group winners after Midleton success

Ardscoil Ris into Harty Cup quarter finals as group winners after Midleton success

Paul O'Brien of Ardscoil Ris

ARDSCOIL Ris booked their place in the quarter finals of the Harty Cup with a 100% record thanks to a 2-16 to 1-18 win over Midleton CBS in Boherlahan this Wednesday.

The third successive victory for the Limerick city secondary school saw them gain some slight revenge for a replay defeat to the Cork college in last year’s quarter final.

Ardscoil Ris will now go into the hat as a group winner in the mid-December draw for the January 10 quarter finals in the Munster Post Primary Schools Senior A Hurling Championship. There is a one in three chance of an all-Limerick tie with Hospital’s John the Baptist Community School.

Ardscoil Ris raced from the starting blocks and scored five successive points in five minutes.

But Midleton hit back with a goal in the sixth minute. By half time the Ardscoil Ris lead was 0-13 to 1-7.

Eight minutes into the second half the game was level, 0-14 to 1-11. In the 10th minute of the second half came the first Ardscoil Ris goal from Cathal O’Neill.

Seven minutes later the North Circular Road side were 2-14 to 1-13 clear after a David Woulfe goal.

But four points in a row from the Cork side had the game level with five minutes to play, 2-14 to 1-17. Ardscoil Ris steadied and found the winning points from Woulfe and Paul O’Brien.

SCORERS: Ardscoil Ris: Diarmuid Ryan 0-6, Paul O’Brien 0-5 (4frees), David Woulfe 1-2, Cathal O’Neill 1-1, Rory Duff, Aidan Moriarty 0-1 each. Midleton CBS: Liam O’Shea 0-8 (4frees, 2 lineballs), Joe Stack 1-2, Aaron Walsh Barry and Liam Gosnell 0-2 each, Ross O’Regan, Arthur Nganou, Ger Millerick and Cathal Hickey 0-1 each.

ARDSCOIL RIS: Jason Gillane; Padraig Heaney, Josh Considine, Emmet McEvoy; Jerome Boylan, Ronan Connolly, Cillian O’Reilly; Rory Duff, Diarmuid Ryan; Aidan Moriarty, Paul O’Brien, David Woulfe; Cathal O’Neill, Conor Bourke, Rian Considine. Subs: James Daly for Aidan Moriarty (46mins), Barry O’Connor for Cathal O’Neill (52mins), Jathan McMahon for Cillian O’Reilly (58mins).

MIDLETON CBS: Alan Power; Jamie Landers, Sean O’Leary, Dylan Hogan; Sean O’Sullivan, Ger Millerick, Aaron Walsh Barry; Liam Gosnell, Eoghan O’Sullivan; Daragh Moran, Liam O’Shea, Ross O’Regan; Arthur Nganou, Joe Stack, Cathal Hickey. Sub: Gary Carroll for Ross O’Regan (33mins).

REFEREE: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)