Limerick's Claire O'Riordan in Team of the Year at Women's National League awards 

Limerick's O'Riordan in Team of the Year at Women's National League awards 

Limerick's Claire O'Riordan in action for Wexford Youths

LIMERICK’S Claire O’Riordan has been honoured in the Team of the Year at the Continental Tyres Women's National League Awards.

The 23 year old forward won the Women's National League title with Wexford Youths earlier this month.

From Newcastle West, O’Riordan is a former inter-county ladies footballer with Limerick. 

She played camogie with Newcastle West and Ladies Football with Monagea before joining up with Wexford Youths while in college in IT Carlow.

This Wednesday, O’Riordan was named in the team of the year at an event in the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin. 

The 2017 Continental Tyres Women's National League was settled in spectacular fashion as Wexford Youths WFC overcame Peamount United 2-0 on the final day in front of a record attendance at Ferrycarrig Park.

The 2017 title won by Laura Heffernan's team, saw them win the WNL title for the third time in their history.

A 2011 Limerick junior ladies football championship winner with Monagea, Claire O’Riordan has now progressed to earn international soccer recognition with the Republic of Ireland.


Goalkeeper: Amanda Budden (Cork City)

Defenders: Claire Walsh (UCD Waves), Niamh Prior (Shelbourne), Chloe Moloney (Peamount United), Ciara McNamara (Cork City)

Midfielders: Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Kylie Murphy (Wexford Youths), Eleanor Ryan-Doyle (Peamount United)

Forwards: Amber Barrett (Peamount United) Claire O’Riordan (Wexford Youths), Clare Shine (Cork City)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.