Munster Rugby reveal Player of the Year nominees

Munster Rugby reveal Player of the Year nominees

OUT-HALF Tyler Bleyendaal, prop John Ryan and hooker Niall Scannell  have been nominated by their fellow team-mates for the prestigious Munster Rugby Senior Player of the Year accolade.

The Senior Player of the Year winner will be  announced at the 2017 Munster Rugby Awards which take place on  Thursday, May 4 at the Maryborough Hotel in Cork.

All three players short-listed for the senior player award are nominated for the first time.  Previous winners of the prestigious accolade include James Coughlan, John Hayes, Mick O’Driscoll, Ronan O’Gara, Donnacha Ryan, Tommy O’Donnell, Conor Murray and two-time recipient CJ Stander.

Once again this year the overall winner will be decided by a public vote.

Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players Dan Goggin, Conor Oliver and Brian Scott have been nominated for the John McCarthy Award for Academy Player of the Year.

In total, eleven diverse categories will be honoured in celebrating the best of Domestic and Professional rugby within the province.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.