Limerick rally late to ensure hurling league win over Offaly

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick rally late to ensure hurling league win over Offaly

THE Limerick hurlers just about secured an Allianz Hurling League win over Offaly this Saturday evening, 1-25 to 3-15.

Limerick had to play the entire second half with 14-men after a red card for John Fitzgibbon just before half time.

Limerick needed six of the last seven points to secure the win.

Offaly played with the first half breeze and were 1-13 to 0-14 ahead at the break.

Limerick had opened the game with six unanswered points – all in eight minutes with four Lynch frees and one each from play from David Dempsey and John Fitzgibbon.

By the mid-point of the first half it was a 0-8 to 0-6 lead for the home side with Shane Dooley accounting for five of those Offaly scores from play.

Two from Pat Ryan had John Kiely’s men 0-10 to 0-8 clear and when Gearoid Hegarty and Andrew La Touche Cosgrave made it seven Limerick scorers on the mark it was 0-12 to 0-9 after 25-minutes.

But Limerick didn’t score for the next 10-minutes as Offaly took over with five unanswered scores.

Their goal came in the 27th minute from Dooley to level the game.

As half time approached Offaly were 1-13 to 0-12 ahead but Limerick finished with Lynch’s seventh of the half and a second from Gearoid Hegarty.

Limerick started the second half on top and had the first four scores of the half to move 1-17 to 1-13 ahead with 12-minutes of the half played,

Then Limerick were rocked by two Offaly goals in 90-seconds – the first from Dooley and the second from Oisin Kiely.

All of a sudden Offaly were 3-14 to 1-19 ahead with 54-minutes played.

But Limerick responded well with points from a Lynch free, Darragh O’Donovan, Gearoid Hegarty and James Ryan to go 1-23 to 3-14 ahead with five minutes left.

LIMERICK: David McCarthy; Sean Finn, Richie McCarthy, Mike Casey; Seamus Hickey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon; Pat Ryan, John Fitzgibbon; Gearoid Hegarty, David Dempsey, James Ryan; Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Ronan Lynch, Seanie Tobin. Subs: Darragh O’Donovan for Pat Ryan (54mins), Graeme Mulcahy for Seanie Tobin (56mins), Stephen Cahill for Sean Finn (60mins), Alan Dempsey for Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (63mins).

OFFALY: James Dempsey; Paddy Rigney, Micheal Cleary, Paddy Delaney; Sean Ryan, Dermot Short, Ben Connelly; Conor Doughan, Padraig Guinan; Oisín Kelly, Shane Dooley, Sean Cleary; Peter Geraghty, Cillian Kiely, Emmett Nolan. Subs: Derek Morkan for Padraig Guinan (h-t), James Mulrooney for Cillian Kiely (48mins), Adrian Cleary for Peter Geraghty (48mins), Liam Langton for Emmet Nolan (60mins), Stephen Quike for Sean Cleary (69mins).

REFEREE: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)