Limerick hurling teams named for Novas charity clash in Rathkeale

Limerick hurling teams named for Novas charity clash in Rathkeale

LIMERICK senior hurling manager John Kiely and coach Paul Kinnerk have named their starting lineup’s for tonight’s charity game evening.

Tonight’s game is raising funds for the homeless charity Novas and has a 7:30pm throw in at Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale.

Kiely takes charge of a ‘Limerick Treaty’ side that includes newcomers to the panel: Peter Casey, Lorcan Lyons, Robbie Egan and Kyle Hayes, while Kinnerk’s ‘Limerick Sarsfields’ have Robbie Hanley and Stephen Cahill in their starting team.

The game will be Limerick’s last outing before Christmas and follows last weekend’s challenge game against Dublin in Abbotstown.

The Limerick senior hurlers are facing into a hectic period in January with four games over a two week period in the newly sponsored Munster Hurling League.

Kiely will make his competitive debut as senior hurling manager when Limerick play Waterford in Walsh park on Sunday January 8.

The following Sunday, January 15 Limerick welcome Cork to the Gaelic Grounds and then on Sunday January 22 Kerry come to the Gaelic Grounds.

There is a mid-week floodlit fixture on Wednesday January 18 when Limerick play Clare in Sixmilebridge.

Limerick Sarsfields: Nickie Quaid; Seanie O’Brien, Tom Condon, Seamus Hickey; Dan Morrissey, Barry O’Connell, Declan Hannon; Lorcan Lyons, John Fitzgibbon; Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch, Robbie Egan; Peter Casey, Barry Nash, Kevin O’Brien.

Limerick Treaty: Barry Hennessy, Mike Casey, Richie McCarthy, Stephen Cahill; Diarmaid Byrnes, Gearoid Hegarty, Gavin O’Mahony; Ronan Lynch, Pat Ryan; Tom Morrissey, Shane Dowling, David Dempsey; Seanie Tobin, Graeme Mulcahy, Robbie Hanley.

Replacements for both teams will be David McCarthy, Colin Ryan and Aaron Gillane while the following are unavailable for selection: Paul Browne, Richie English, Sean Finn, Darragh O’Donovan, Alan Dempsey, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Seamus Flanagan and Kevin Downes.