Limerick hurlers in pre-Christmas charity game

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick hurlers in pre-Christmas charity game

THE Limerick senior hurlers have organised a pre-Christmas charity game to raise funds for homeless charity, Novas.

The game between the 39-man inter-county panel takes place in Rathkeale’s Mick Neville Park at 7.30 on Monday next, December 19.

Admission will be €5 with all proceeds to Novas, who works with families and individuals who are socially excluded, primarily those who are homeless or at risk of being homeless.

One team selection ‘Limerick Sarsfields’ will be managed by coach Paul Kinnerk and will play ‘Limerick Treaty’, managed by Limerick manager John Kiely.

The game will be Limerick’s last outing before Christmas and follows last weekend’s challenge game against Dublin in Abbotstown.

The Limerick senior hurlers are facing into a hectic period in January with four games over a two week period in the newly sponsored Munster Hurling League.

John Kiely will make his competitive debut as senior hurling manager when Limerick play Waterford in Walsh park on Sunday January 8.

The following Sunday, January 15 Limerick welcome Cork to the Gaelic Grounds and then on Sunday January 22 Kerry come to the Gaelic Grounds.

There is a mid-week floodlit fixture on Wednesday January 18 when Limerick play Clare in Sixmilebridge.

LIMERICK PANEL: Declan Hannon (Adare), John Fitzgibbon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Paul Browne (Bruff), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Nickie Quaid (Effin), Seamus Flanagan (Feoghanagh-Castlemahon), David McCarthy (Glenroe), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock), Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Robbie Egan (Kilmallock), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Seanie Tobin (Murroe-Boher), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Gearóid Hegarty (St Patricks), Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla).