Four Limerick schools embark on Harty Cup campaign

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Four Limerick schools embark on Harty Cup campaign

FOUR Limerick schools set sail in the 2016/17 Harty Cup next week.

Champions Ardscoil Ris, Castletroy College and Doon’s Scoil na Trionoide Naofa are joined by Kilmallock’s Colaiste Iosaef in the Munster Post Primary Schools Senior A Hurling Championship.

Twenty Limerick GAA clubs will have players involved – 10 of which will be in the 2017 Limerick SHC.

The first games of the new-look competition take place on Wednesday October 12.

There are eight groups with two teams to advance from each to the new-look knockout stage of 16 teams.

Some groups only have two teams and therefore their game will be used as a seeding for the knockout phase with a group winner to face a group runner-up in the ‘round of 16’.

County Limerick sides Kilmallock and Doon have been drawn in the same group, along with CBC of Cork.

Castletroy are also in a group of three, with opposition to come from Clonmel and Bandon.

Champions Ardscoil Ris will have just one group game – against Bandon and are therefore guaranteed a place in the ‘round of 16’.

Four time Harty Cup champions Ardscoil Ris reached the All Ireland Croke Cup final in last season’s competition but lost that Semple Stadium decider to Kilkenny kingpins St Kierans College.

For the season ahead Ardscoil Ris are managed by teachers Liam Cronin and Derek Larkin with coaching assistance from Damien Gillane (Patrickswell) and Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock). Their panel includes six that played in the All Ireland MHC final in Croke Park last month with Limerick – Brian Ryan, Darragh Carroll, David Woulfe, Paul O’Brien, Jerome Boylan and Ronan Connolly.

Castletroy College are managed by teachers Liam Reale and Leonard Coughlan.

They had nine on Limerick’s 2016 county minor panel and four are eligible for the new Harty Cup season – Conor Nicholas, Mark O’Dwyer, Dan Minihan and Ciaran Barry.

Doon have teachers Diarmuid McCarthy and Diarmuid Carr in their management.

Newcomers Kilmallock return after an absence of a few years. They have Ger Barry and Dan Hogan in their management. Cal McCarthy and Paul O’Riordan both played championship with the Limerick minors this Summer and will be key players for the south Limerick school.

Elsewhere, both Abbey CBS and Charleville CBS will have Limerick involvement.

Galbally’s Kieran Hickey is Abbey CBS manager, with Limerick senior hurling manager and school principal John Kiely one of his selectors. Pallasgreen duo John Hickey and Donnacha Looby and Doon’s William O’Mahony will be in their panel, that includes three of Tipperary’s All Ireland MHC winning set-up.

Teachers David Garvey and Kevin Butler are in charge of Charleville. They will include Croom’s James Fitzgerald and Kevin Laffan; Effin’s PJ Herr and Tommy Bluett, Bruree’s David O’Connell and Tommy Cronnolly, Cian Cotter (Castletown-Ballyagran) and Adam Costello (Dromin-Athlacca Banogue).


COLAISTE IOSAEF KILMALLOCK: David Browne (Bruff), Daire Brady (Dromin-Athlacca), Joshua O’Mahony (Kilmallock), David Carroll (Kilmallock), Seán Barrett (Kilmallock), Clive Doherty (Effin), Aidan Enright (Kilmallock), Jonathan Fitzpatrick (Bruree), Robbie Breen (Dromin-Athlacca), Bryan Kennedy (Effin), Cian Moloney (Kilmallock), Colm O’Neill (Blackrock), Gearóid McCarthy (Bruree), Paul O’Riordan (Bruff), Darragh O’Brien (Bruff), Shane Rabbitt (Bruree), Paul Treacy (Kilmallock), David O’Connor (Kilmallock), Cal McCarthy (Kilmallock), Jake Moloney (Effin), Sean O’Leary (Dromin-Athlacca), Danny O’Leary (Bruff), Padraic Mulcahy (Bruff), Joe O’Donnell (Kilmallock), Dylan O’Brien (Kilmallock), Jerry Quaid (Dromin-Athlacca), Paudie O’Connor (Kilmallock), Andrew Finn (Kilmallock), Liam English (Kilmallock), Gearóid Barry (Kilmallock), Seamus Connery (Kilmallock), David Mulqueen (Bruff).

SCOIL NA TRIONOIDE NAOFA DOON: Sean Quigley (Murroe-Boher), Dara McCarthy (Cappawhite), Bob Purcell (Doon), David Fox (Eire Og Annacarty), Philip Gantley (Cappawhite), Anthony Barry (Cappawhite), Eoin Doyle (Doon), Gavan Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Eoghan Loughman (Eire Og Annacarty), David Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Pakie Barry (Cappawhite), Jack Ryan (Doon), Padraic Ryan (Doon), Jason Fitzgibbon (Cappamore), Ivan O’Dwyer (Doon), Jerry O’Brien (Doon), Conor Fitzgibbon (Cappamore), Jordan Hayes (Eire Og Annacarty), Adam Crowe (Doon), Dubhan O’Grady (Doon), Mikey O’Brien (Doon), Padraig Fitzgerald (Cappamore), Ryan Renehan (Cappawhite), Jack Ryan (Doon), Chris Berkery (Doon), William Barry (Cappawhite), Jack Sheehan (Cappamore), Brendan Murphy (Cappawhite), Colm McMahon (Pallasgreen), Cormac Ryan (Doon), Gearoid Ryan (Cappawhite), Fraser Allen (Cappawhite), Ciaran Doody (Cappawhite), Fionn Brady (Cappawhite), Alan O’Dwyer (Cappawhite), Sam Lucey (Doon), Stephen McDonald (Eire Og Annacarty).

CASTLETROY COLLEGE: Ciaran Barry (Ahane), Iain Campbell (Monaleen), Cathal Carew (Monaleen), Dara Cullimore (Ahane), Jack Fitzpatrick (South Liberties), Ronan Fox (Ahane), Brian Garry (South Liberties), Harry Gleeson (Monaleen), Padraig Harnett (Ahane), Phillip Harty (Monaleen), John Hickey (South Liberties), Daragh Keogh (Ahane), David Leahy (Monaleen), Maurice Leahy (Monaleen), Dion Lynch (Ahane), Dan Minihan (Ahane), David Moloney (Monaleen), Conor Morrissey (Ahane), Christopher Murphy (Monaleen), Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), Luke O’Brien May (Bruff), Niall O’Brien (Broadford), Mark O’Dwyer (Monaleen), Sean O’Kane (Monaleen), Donal O’Mahoney (Cappamore), Christopher O’Sullivan (Ahane), Luke O’Sullivan (Ahane), Paul Power (Monaleen), Ronan Reale (Ahane), Andy Rowsome (Ahane).

ARDSCOIL RIS: Liam Barry (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Bourke (Clonlara), Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Darragh Carroll (Newport), Michael Clancy (Clonlara), Joe Collins (Parteen), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Josh Considine (Patrickswell), Rian Considine (Cratloe), Bryan Curtin (Adare), James Daly (Na Piarsaigh), Mark Daly (Na Piarsaigh), Jack Delahunty (Newport), Cameron Di Benedetto (Na Piarsaigh), Rory Duff (Mungret St Pauls), Oisin Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge), Shane Fox (Parteen), Mark Gaule (Sixmilebridge), Jason Gillane (Patrickswell), Joe Gleeson (Na Piarsaigh), Padraic Heaney (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Heffernan (Adare), Will Henn (Na Piarsaigh), Cian Leahy (Crecora-Manister), Seán Long (Na Piarsaigh), Reuben McCarthy (Na Piarsaigh), Joachim McGrath (Patrickswell), Jack McInerney (Cratloe), Adam McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Paul O’Brien (Mungret St Pauls), Seán O’Donoghue (Adare), Cillian O’Reilly (Patrickswell), Brian Ryan (South Liberties), Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe), Micheál Stritch (Clonlara), Gearóid Synnott (Na Piarsaigh), David Woulfe (Kilmallock).