Home comforts for all Limerick champions in Munster club

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell



Home comforts for all Limerick champions in Munster club

THERE is to be home comforts for all Limerick county champions when they journey into the Munster club championship in the coming weeks.

Such are the draws that all six Limerick champions won’t have travel to worry about in their opening round provincial championship ties.

The first into Munster club action will be Limerick Premier IHC winners on October 23. Garryspillane, Cappamore, Blackrock or Monaleen will face the Clare representatives – St Josephs Doora-Barefield, Broadford or Tubber – in a quarter final tie.

Three Limerick sides are due into Munster action on the weekend of October 29/30 – all in quarter final games.

The Limerick SFC winners will entertain Cork opposition – Nemo Rangers, Ballincollig or Carbery Rangers.

There will also be Cork opposition that weekend for teh Limerick JAHC winners. Eight teams remain in the hunt for Limerick honours but the second strings of Na Piarsaigh or Kilmallock won’t be able to progress to the provincial championship were they to claim a county title.

Also that weekend, the Limerick IFC winners will entertain Waterford.

The Limerick SHC winners will be attempting to win a fourth successive Munster title for the county. They will be directly into a November 6 semi final against Cork – Midleton, Glen Rovers, Erins Own or Douglas.

Also straight into a Munster semi final will be the Limerick JAFC winners. They await Kerry or Waterford opposition on November 20.