Allianz League fixtures revealed for Limerick hurlers and footballers

Allianz League fixtures revealed for Limerick hurlers and footballers

LIMERICK’S provisional fixture has been released for the 2017 Allianz Hurling and Football Leagues.

For the seventh successive season the Limerick senior hurlers will play in the second tier. They face opposition from Galway, Wexford, Offaly, Laois and Kerry.

In the promotion race, the two big ties are in the opening (Wexford) and final round (Galway).

The league opens for the Limerick hurlers on Sunday February with a trip to Wexford. That is one of only two away days for Limerick, with a trip to Portlaoise in round four to play Laois on Saturday March 11.

A potentially promotion deciding contest with Galway takes place in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday March 26 – there are home ties against Offaly and Ciaran Carey’s Kerry prior to this.

The hurlers have five group games, while the footballers have seven group games – there are no double headers scheduled, unless changes are made before the fixtures are 100% confirmed.

The footballers begin with two of their toughest ties.

First up is a February 5 trip to Wexford, while one week later Westmeath come to Limerick.

The footballers have four home games – Westmeath, London, Leitrim and Wicklow and three away games – Wexford, Carlow and Waterford.

 

HURLING – DIVISION 1B

Sunday February 12 – Wexford v Limerick

Saturday February 18 – Limerick v Kerry

Saturday March 4 – Limerick v Offaly

Saturday March 11 – Laois v Limerick

Sunday March 26 – Limerick v Galway

 

FOOTBALL – DIVISION 4

Sunday February 5 – Wexford v Limerick

Sunday February 12 – Limerick v Westmeath

Sunday February 26 – Carlow v Limerick

Sunday March 5 – Limerick v London

Sunday March 19 – Limerick v Leitrim

Saturday March 25 – Waterford v Limerick

Sunday April 2 – Limerick v Wicklow