Limerick club hurling knockout stages confirmed

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick club hurling knockout stages confirmed

THE knockout stages of the Limerick SHC and IHC were confirmed over the weekend.

Adare maintained the only 100% record in the top three tiers of the club hurling championship to book their spot as group winners and move directly into the semi finals.

Also confirmed for a semi final spot are 2014 All Ireland club finalists Kilmallock, who beat Doon by 14-points on Sunday in the Gaelic Grounds.

The quarter final line-up is Patrickswell v Doon and Ballybrown v Ahane – both quarter final takes place in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday September 25.

In the semi finals Adare await either Ballybrown or Ahane, while Kilmallock await Patrickswell or Doon.

Elsewhere in the Limerick SHC Bruree and Murroe-Boher were relegated.

The line-up for the senior hurling County Cup semi finals is Na Piarsaigh v Knockainey and South Liberties v Bruff.

In the Limerick IHC, Mungret and Kildimo-Pallaskenry booked semi final spots as group winners.

In the quarter finals Glenroe play Hospital-Herbertstown, while Knockaderry play Pallasgreen,

In the semi finals Mungret will play Glenroe or Hospital-Herbertstown, while Kildimo-Pallaskenry await either Knockaderry or Pallasgreen.

Relegated to the junior ranks will be St Kierans or Feenagh-Kilmeedy, who face eachother in a relegation play-off.

In the intermediate hurling County Cup semi finals Claughaun-Old Christians play Dromin-Athlacca, while Dromcollogher-Broadford play Newcastle West.

Meanwhile in the Limerick Premier IHC both Croom and Granagh-Ballingarry were relegated down to the County IHC ahead of the final round of games.

At the other end of the group table six teams are still challenging for four semi final places ahead of the final round of group games next Sunday September 18 at 12.30. The six are Garryspillane, Blackrock, Monaleen, Cappamore, Effin and Feohanagh.

In the Limerick junior A hurling championship, the eight qurter finalists are now also known – Na Piarsaigh, St Patricks, Monagea, Tournafulla, Caherline, Ballybricken-Bohermore, Kilmallock and Castletown-Ballyagran.



South Liberties 3-17 Bruree 0-9; Ballybrown 5-12 Na Piarsaigh 0-21; Kilmallock 4-17 Doon 1-12; Patrickswell 0-16 Murroe-Boher 0-10; Adare 3-18 Bruff 1-10; Knockainey 0-15 Ahane 0-13


Feohanagh 1-14 Granagh-Ballingarry 1-11; Blackrock 2-13 Croom 2-7; Monaleen 0-17 Cappamore 1-11, Effin 2-8 Garryspillane 0-11.


Claughaun-Old Christians 2-11 Feenagh-Kilmeedy 2-10; Newcastle West 3-10 Hospital-Herbertstown 1-15; Mungret St Pauls 2-12 Pallasgreen 0-16; Kildimo-Pallaskenry 3-14 Glenroe 1-17; Dromin-Athlacca 4-22 St Kierans 0-6; Knockaderry 7-13 Dromcollogher-Broadford 1-19.