Munster endure frustrating home loss to Cardiff

Munster endure frustrating home loss to Cardiff

MUNSTER suffered a frustrating 24-23 defeat to Cardiff Blues in their Guinness Pro12 clash at Musgrave Park before an official attendance of 7,405 at Musgrave Park on Friday night.

A 69th  minute try from full-back Dan Fish proved crucial in the Blues success as the Welsh region inflicted just a second defeat on Munster in 15 fixtures in Cork.

Munster’s sense of frustration was heightened by the loss of Rory Scannell and Tommy O’Donnell, both to neck and head injuries respectively, and Dave Foley to an elbow injury during the course of the game.

Cardiff led 17-10 at half-time, with Munster managing one first half try through full-back Andrew Conway. Winger Tom James touched down twice for the Blues.

The introduction of internationals CJ Stander and Donnacha Ryan bolstered the Munster pack in the third quarter. 

An Ian Keatley penalty, followed by a try from replacement prop Dave Kilcoyne, saw Munster lead 20-17 just past the hour mark, but an excellent team try finished by Fish was enough for the Blues to make it two wins out of two in the Pro12 this season.

SCORERS: Munster: Andrew Conway, Dave Kilcoyne try each, Ian Keatley two cons, three pens. Cardiff Blues: Tom James two tries, Dan Fish try, Gareth Anscombe two cons, pen, Steven Shingler con.

MUNSTER: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue. Replacements: Duncan Casey, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Donnacha Ryan, CJ Stander, Tomas O'Leary, Cian Bohane, Stephen Fitzgerald.

CARDIFF BLUES: Dan Fish; Alex Cuthbert, Cory Allen, Rey Lee-Lo, Tom James; Gareth Anscombe, Tomos Williams; Gethin Jenkins (capt), Kristian Dacey; Taufa'ao Filise, George Earle, Macauley Cook, Josh Navidi, Ellis Jenkins, Nick Williams.Replacements: Matthew Rees, Rhys Gill, Scott Andrews, Josh Turnbull, Sam Warburton, Lloyd Williams, Steve Shingler, Matthew Morgan.

REFEREE: Ian Davies (Wales)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.