Eleven Limerick-based players in Munster interpro side

Eleven Limerick-based players in Munster interpro side

ELEVEN Limerick-based players have been named in the starting line-up for Munster U-20 and Development squad’s interprovincial clash with Ulster at Thomond Park this Friday, 7pm. 

Seven Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players have been included in Colm McMahon’s squad - flanker Gavin Coombes, number 8 John Foley, centre Calvin Nash and locks Fineen Wycherley and Sean O'Connor all start with prop Liam O'Connor and hooker Vincent O'Brien among the replacements.

Out-half Conor Fitzgerald and centre Calvin Nash made their Munster senior debuts during pre-season having impressed Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus after being called into the squad for training.

Former Glenstal Abbey star Colm Hogan, now at Dublin University, captains the side from full-back.

Having won the U-18 Interprovincials in 2014 and the U-19 title in 2015, a number of squad members are actually unbeaten in a Munster shirt but they face stiff opposition from a talented Ulster outfit this Friday night.

Having been beaten 46-20 by Leinster last week, Ulster will be keen to get back on track in Limerick.

All four Munster underage sides are at home this weekend with a double header in CIT on Saturday (U-18 Schools and U-19s) with the U-18 Clubs team facing Leinster in Thomond on Sunday at 2.30pm. 

Munster team to face Ulster (Thomond Park, Friday, September 9, 7pm): 15. Colm Hogan (Dublin University) (Capt); 14. Lee Molloy (Lansdowne); 13. Calvin Nash (Young Munster); 12. Peadar Collins (Garryowen); 11. Liam Coombes (Skibbereen); 10. Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon); 9. Jack Stafford (Shannon); 1. Joey Conway (Castletroy College); 2. Adam Moloney (Shannon); 3. Rob O'Donovan (UCC); 4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster); 5. Sean O'Connor (Garryowen); 6. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster); 7. Alan Fitzgerald (Shannon); 8. John Foley (Shannon). Replacements: 16. Vincent O'Brien (Cork Constitution); 17. Liam O'Connor (Cork Constitution); 18. Peter Kelleher (Cork Constitution); 19. Barra O'Byrne (Garryowen); 20. Bailey Faloon (Garryowen); 21. James Lennon (Exiles); 22. Alan Tynan (Young Munster); 23. Alex McHenry (Cork Constitution); 24. Cameron Gray (Exiles); 25. Daire Feeney (UCC); 26. Daniel Hurley (Garryowen)

Interprovincial Fixtues and Results 2016

Munster Combined U20 & Development Squad

Friday, September 9, Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 7pm; Friday, September 16, Leinster v Munster, Donnybrook, 7pm.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.