Limerick's road to the All Ireland Minor Hurling Final

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick's road to the All Ireland Minor Hurling Final

ALMOST 11 months after preparations began Limerick arrive into Croke Park this Sunday for an eighth ever All Ireland MHC final.

It’s a journey that has included almost 110 outings between five championship matches, challenge games, training sessions, gym work and team meetings.

Munster quarter-final

Limerick 2-11 Clare 1-18

Wednesday, April 6, in the Gaelic Grounds

Second half goals from two substitutes propelled Limerick past Clare in a game that was all square at half time – Limerick 0-7, Clare 1-4.

The first goal came 22-minutes into the second half from Josh Ryan to move Limerick 1-11 to 1-7 ahead. In the remaining eight minutes they were to score just once more but the goal from Cian Magner Flynn sealed the win.

LIMERICK: Mark O’Kelly; Brian Nash; William O’Meara, Brian Timmons; Josh Adams, Ciaran O’Connor 0-1, Finn Hourigan; Conor Nicholas, Cal McCarthy 0-1; Kyle Hayes 0-2, Darragh Carroll 0-1 (lineball), Brian Ryan 0-1, Conor Boylan 0-2, Anthony Barrett, Mark O’Dwyer 0-3 (3frees). Subs: Cian Magner Flynn 1-0 for Anthony Barrett (h-t), Josh Ryan 1-0 for Mark O’Dwyer (43mins), David Woulfe for Cal McCarthy (56mins), Conor Flahive for Brian Timmons (57mins), Dan Minihan for Ciaran O’Connor (62mins).


Limerick 0-18 Waterford 0-17

Wednesday, June 29, in Walsh Park

After a 13-week gap Limerick produced a brilliant second half display to reach a fourth successive Munster final.

Limerick played with the aid of the strong wind in the first half and led 0-9 to 0-4 at the break.

LIMERICK: Mark O’Kelly; Brian Nash, Conor Nicholas, Finn Hourigan; Michael O’Grady, Josh Adams, Brian Timmons; Brian Ryan 0-3, Cal McCarthy; Darragh Carroll 0-2 (1lineball), Cian Magner Flynn 0-1, David Woulfe 0-1; Conor Boylan, Kyle Hayes 0-2, Paul O’Brien 0-10 (8frees). Subs: John Flynn for Cal McCarthy (h-t), Ciaran O’Connor for Brian Timmons (40mins), Micheal Bourke for Josh Adams (54mins), Anthony Barrett for David Woulfe (57mins).


Limerick 0-10 Tipperary 1-24

Sunday, July 10, in Gaelic Grounds

Back-to-back Munster final defeats for Limerick after a display that manager Pat Donnelly described as a “no show”.

Tipperary were 0-13 to 0-7 ahead at half time after setting the pace for much of the first half and Limerick played most of the second half with 14-men after two yellow cards for Brian Nash.

LIMERICK: Mark O’Kelly; Brian Nash, Conor Nicholas, Brian Timmons; Michael O’Grady, Josh Adams, Finn Hourigan; John Flynn, Darragh Carroll; Brian Ryan, Kyle Hayes 0-2, Conor Boylan 0-2, Ronan Connolly, Cian Magner Flynn 0-1, Paul O’Brien 0-3 (3frees). Subs: Jerome Boylan for Brian Timmons (19mins), David Woufle for Brian Ryan (35mins), Aaron Kennedy 0-1 for Paul O’Brien (35mins), Cal McCarthy for Josh Adams (40mins), Anthony Barrett for Michael O’Grady (52mins).


Limerick 0-17 Wexford 0-9

Sunday, July 24, in Semple Stadium

Two weeks after the Munster final loss Limerick bounced back to book a spot in Croke Park.

Pat Donnelly’s men took an 0-8 to 0-5 lead in the dressing room at the interval. Limerick pushed on for victory, hitting four points in added time. 

LIMERICK: Mark O’Kelly; Brian Nash, Conor Nicholas, Ronan Connelly; Josh Adams 0-1 (free), Ciaran O’Connor, Finn Hourigan; Jerome Boylan, Darragh Carroll; Michael O’Grady 0-1, Kyle Hayes 0-1, David Woulfe 0-1; Conor Boylan 0-3, Anthony Barrett, Brian Ryan 0-9 (6frees). Subs: Cal McCarthy 0-1 for Darragh Carroll (30mins); Paul O’Riordan for Anthony Barrett (46mins); John Flynn for Cal McCarthy (48mins); Cian Magner Flynn for David Woulfe (53mins); Conor O’Grady for Michael O’Grady (57mins). 

All Ireland semi final

Limerick 1-18 Dublin 0-15

Sunday, August 7, in Croke Park

The best display of the year saw the Leinster champions dispatched.

What a first half from Limerick it was to lead 1-13 to 0-7 at half time.

LIMERICK: Mark O’Kelly 0-1 (free), Brian Nash, Conor Nicholas, Ronan Connolly; Josh Adams, Jerome Boylan, Finn Hourigan 0-1; Ciaran O’Connor, Darragh Carroll; Michael O’Grady, Anthony Barrett, Conor Boylan 0-2; Brian Ryan 0-10 (8frees), Kyle Hayes 0-2, Cian Magner Flynn 1-1. Subs: John Flynn for Darragh Carroll (45mins), David Woulfe for Anthony Barrett 0-1 (48mins), Paul O’Riordan for Cian Magner Flynn (57mins), Micheal Bourke for Michael O’Grady (60mins).