Seven Limerick starters for Munster Schools against Italy

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Seven Limerick starters for Munster Schools against Italy

SEVEN Limerick-based players have been included in the starting line-up for Munster U-18 Schools side fixture against Italy U-18s at Thomond Park this Tuesday, 7pm.

Crescent College Comprehensive’s Conor Phillips is selected on a wing, while Glenstal Abbey’s Luke Fitzgerald will start at inside centre. The Munster School’s U-18 half-back pairing will consist of Glenstal’s Ben Healy at out-half and Ardscoil Ris’ Craig Casey at scrum-half.

In the pack, Crescent College’s Fintan Colman will line-out in the second row, while the back-row includes his school mate Daniel Feasey and Ardscoil Ris’ Luke Clohessy.

Munster Schools U-18 head coach Fiach O'Loughlin has also named Josh Wycherley from Cistercian College Roscrea at loosehead prop.

The replacements include hooker George Downing from Glenstal Abbey as well as props Mark O'Driscoll from St. Munchin's College and James McCarthy of Ardscoil Rís on the bench.

Back replacements include Paul Clancy (Castletroy College) and Ben Moloney (Glenstal Abbey).

The Munster Schools U-18 squad are in the final week of their Talent Camp training and kick off their Interprovincial Series against Ulster on Friday, August 26 at Perry Park (ko 4pm).

Munster Schools U-18 v Italy U-18s: Jonathon Wren (PBC), Conor Phillips (Crescent College Comprehensive),  Sean French (PBC), Luke Fitzgerald (Glenstal Abbey), JD O'Hea (CBC), Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey), Craig Casey (Ardscoil Rís); Josh Wycherley (Cistercian College Roscrea), Daniel O'Connor (CBC), Luke Masters (CBC), Cian Hurley (CBC), Fintan Coleman (Crescent College Comprehensive), Colin Deane (Bandon Grammar), Daniel Feasey (Crescent College Comprehensive), Luke Clohessy (Ardscoil Rís). Replacements: George Downing (Glenstal Abbey), Mark O'Driscoll (St Munchin's College), James McCarthy (Ardscoil Rís), Anthony Ryan (CBC), Finn Burke (CBC), Cian Fitzgerald (PBC), Ben Roche (CBC), Colin Sisk (CBC), Paul Clancy (Castletroy College), Eon Monahan (CBC), Ben Moloney (Glenstal Abbey)