05 Jul 2022

And the July winners of the Limerick Sports Star awards are ...

And the July winners of the Limerick Sports Star awards are ...

Horse trainer Robbie McNamara and athlete Ciara Neville are the winners of the Limerick Sports Star awards for the month of July.

Croom native McNamara had his first two winners as a trainer on his debut outing in Cork early in the month. He returned Chadic as a 12/1 winner in a 2m maiden hurdle while he followed it up with Rathcannon winning the bumper. McNamara only received his training licence in May and comes just over a year after his career as a top amateur jockey was ended by injury. He is the Limerick Sports Star winner for July.

Neville – a member of Emerald AC and student in Castletroy College - starred at both the European Youths athletics championships in Georgia and the World U-20 championships in Poland where she helped the Irish team set a new national record in finishing fifth in 4x100m relay. This follows on from her domination of the Irish and Munster schools sprint races earlier in the year. Neville is the Young Limerick Sports Star for July.

The Limerick Sports Star award which is organised by the Limerick Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa and the Limerick Leader honours the outstanding sporting candidate for their achievements in a given month.

The winners are announced monthly but presented quarterly at a lunch in the Limerick Radisson Blu. Each winner is presented with a personalised silver presentation plate from Keane’s Jewellers.  

The May, June and July winners will be honoured this Thursday, August 4, at a lunch in the Limerick Radisson Blu when the winners will be joined by friends and family.

In addition each winner will be invited back to a Gala dinner in January when the Limerick Sports Star of the Year will be announced.

The judges for the Limerick Sports Star are: Steven Miller (Sports Editor, Limerick Leader); Pat Price (Limerick Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa); Stephen Lucey (former Limerick hurler and footballer); Dave Mahedy (UL Director of Sport); Colm Kinsella (Rugby Correspondent, Limerick Leader); Jerome O’Connell (GAA Correspondent, Limerick Leader).

The winners so far this year are:



January – David O’Donovan (Shannon RFC)
February – CJ Stander (Ireland Rugby)
March – Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh hurling)
April – John O’Flynn (Limerick FC)
May – Martin Doody (Limerick AC)
June - Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick camogie)

January – Jenna Bromell (Emerald AC)
February – Richie English (Mary I Fitzgibbon Cup)
March – Laura Stack (Milford Camogie)
April – Anthony Barrett (Limerick minor hurling & football and Limerick Youths Soccer)
May – John Hayes (Limerick Desmond League U-15)
June - Ben Betts (Ireland U-20 Rugby)


- For more on both winners, see this weekend’s print edition of the Limerick Leader

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.