Na Piarsaigh claim junior league honours after extra-time thriller

Na Piarsaigh claim junior league honours after extra-time thriller

NA PIARSAIGH have won back to back County Junior ‘A’ League titles after they beat Doon by one point in a pulsating contest in Kilmallock on Thursday evening.

The Caherdavin side only won the 2015 title the previous week due to a delay in the fixture and needed extra time to see off Doon’s challenge in this cliff-hanger of a contest.

Kevin Ryan was the difference between the two sides. He scored 1-7 and also landed a superb winning score after Doon had clawed their way back into the contest during extra time.

Doon raced into an 0-8 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes but by half time it was Doon 0-12, Na Piarsaigh 2-3, their goals coming from Kevin Ryan and John Madden.

Na Piarsaigh got the first four points of the second half to swing the game in their favour and looked to have edged the clash late on when Ryan pointed from play with five minutes remaining. However, Doon held their nerve and an injury time point from Michael McKenna sent the game to extra time.
A Dylan Cronin goal put Na Piarsaigh ahead in extra time but that was cancelled out by a Josh Ryan penalty before man of the match Ryan landed a superb winner for Na Piarsaigh.

SCORERS - Na Piarsaigh: Kevin Ryan 1-7 (0-2 frees, 0-1 65), Dylan Cronin 1-1, John Madden 1-0, Alan O’Callaghan (two frees), Pat McCarthy, Mark Ryan, Kieran Daly 0-2 each; Doon: Josh Ryan 1-6 (1-0 pen, three frees), Tommy Hayes, Shane Brennan (three frees), 0-3 each, Rodger Maher, Cathal Maher, Michael McKenna 0-2 each, Mark Coleman, Shane McKenna, Darragh Shanahan 0-1 each.

NA PIARSAIGH: Evan Condon; Brian Shannon, Paul Downes, Pa Guinane; Robbie Graham, Brian Hartnett, Evan O’Brien; Dylan Cronin, Kieran Daly; Dean McLaughlin, Kevin Ryan, John Madden; Alan O’Callaghan, Pat McCarthy, Eoghan Keogh; Subs: Mark Ryan for Keogh (19 mins), Mike Andrews for Shannon (33 mins), Gearoid Synnott for O’Callaghan (48 mins), Eoghan Keogh for McLaughlin (63 mins), Will Henn for McCarthy (72 mins).

DOON: Paddy Coleman; Arthur Crowe, Jason Ryan, Ger Crowe; Jack Cummins, Morgan Crowe, Diarmuid Cummins; Tommy Hayes, Michael McKenna; Shane Brennan, Rodger Maher, Josh Ryan; Mark Coleman, Cathal Maher, Shane McKenna; Subs: Rob McLoughlin for Jason Ryan (h-t), Darragh Shanahan for Coleman (48 mins), Shane O’Connell for Cathal Maher (55 mins), John Bourke for Rodger Maher (68 mins), Caolan Hennessy for Shane McKenna (75 mins).

REFEREE: Paddy Lyons (Staker Wallace)