Limerick Football Academy teams in annual competitions

Limerick Football Academy teams in annual competitions

THE three Limerick underage inter-county football teams see action this weekend.

As part of the Limerick Underage Football Academy, the U-14 travel to Waterford, the U-15 competition is in Cork and the U-16 competition is in Limerick. 

The academy is being lead by former Limerick captain Muiris Gavin and All Ireland winning coach Paul Kinnerk, both of Monaleen. Darragh Droog looks after strength and conditioning, while Colette O’Grady, Jacqueline O’Connor and Gerry Philips work in the background.

The Limerick U-14 squad will compete in the Jim Power Tournament and will be based at Bushy Park (Brickey Rangers GAA) outside Dungarvan.

They will have 3 initial group games in Group B with Kerry North, Waterford and Rebel Óg West Cork. The team is managed by John Keane of Ahane and backroom team Sean McAuliffe (Newcastle West), Eoin Hogan (Na Piarsaigh), Peter McKenna (UL), Kevin Denihan (Galbally), Mike Meade (Ballylanders), DJ Collins (UL), Denis O'Keeffe (Ahane), and Gerry Phillips (Monagea).

The Limerick U-15 football squad will compete in the Humphrey Kelleher tournament hosted by Cork.

The team will play their quarter final game against South Kerry in Knocknagree. The winners will progress to the Cup Semi Finals were they will play the winners of Cork East or Waterford. The losers will play in the plate Semi Final against Cork East / Waterford. The team is managed by Billy Lee of (Newcastle West) and backroom team Ollie Coffey (Ballylanders), Pa Ranahan (Ballysteen), Mike Fitzgerald (Hospital-Herbertstown), Diarmuid Carroll (St Kierans), Andy Lane (St Senans), Seamus O'Donnell (St Kierans) and Seoirse Laffan (Na Piarsaigh).

The Munster U-16 football tournament, which is sponsored by Fitzgerald’s Woodlands House Hotel, Adare will be played in Mick Neville Park Rathkeale, Adare and Foynes. Limerick have been drawn against South Kerry in the quarter final. The winners will progress to the Cup semi final against the winners of either Tipperary or Clare. The losers will play in the plate semi final against the losers of the Tipperary and Clare game. The team is managed by John O’Grady of Oola and backroom team Stephen Lavin (Adare), David Lavin (Adare), Conor Fitzgerald (Adare), David O’Connor (Athea), Sean Kiely (Bruff), Alan Finnegan (Na Piarsaigh) and liaison officer Colette O’Grady (Mungret).

U-14 PANEL:Brian Aherne (Dromcollogher-Broadford),  Jamie Baynham (Monagea), Oisin Browne (Ballylanders), Conor Carew (Monaleen), Michael Cuddihy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Josh Dineen (Galbally), Patrick Dolphin (Crecora), Mark Donnellan (Ahane), Daniel Fitzgerald (Askeaton-Ballysteen), John Egan (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Conor Galvin (Mungret St Pauls), Daniel Geraghty (St Kierans), Caillum Hedderman (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Aaron Heffernan (St Kierans), Jamie Keane (Monagea), Peter Kirby (Ballylanders), Tom Marsden (Ahane),  Rian McBrearty (Monaleen), Eddie Murphy O'Connor (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Rory O’Connor (St Senans), Ruadhan O’Connor (Newcastle West), Donnacha O’Dalaigh (Monaleen), Shane O’Donoghue (Ballylanders), Micheal O'Donnell (Galbally), Aaron O'Donovan (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Peter O'Dwyer (Galbally), Darragh O'Keeffe (Kilpeacon), Sean O'Shea (Monaleen), Dylan O'Sullivan (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Fintan O'Sullivan (Ballybrown), Calum Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Jack Quinlivan (Fr Caseys), Tomas Sheahan (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Gearoid Scannell (Fr Caseys), Morgan Sheehan (Newcastle West), Eoin Smith (Cappamore), Conor Stack (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Michael Southgate (Adare), Kieran Storin (Knockaderry), Ciaran Tagney (Blackrock).

U-15 PANEL: Ciaran Bourke (Oola), Dylan Bourke (St Patricks), Michael Cremin (Castlemahon), Cathal Downes (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Killian Dineen (Na Piarsaigh), Brian Foley (Newcastle West), Luke Gleeson (Newcastle West), John Hayes (St Kierans), Brian Howard (Ballylanders), Darren Kearns (St Senans), Timmy Lyons (Croom), Sean Malone (Rathkeale), Michael Martin (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Dylan Moloney (St Kierans), James Molyneaux (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Jack Mullane (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Daniel Normoyle (Newcastle West), Micah O’Connell (Fr Caseys), Ryan O’Connell (Fr Caseys), Stephen O’Hallaron (Na Piarsaigh), Michael O’Hanrahan (Monaleen), Keith O’Kelly (Granagh-Ballingarry), Paul O’Shaughnessy (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Jack Pierce (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Travis Quaid (St Patricks), Killian Reale (Hospital-Herbertstown), Luke Scannell (Fr Caseys), Alex Ryan (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Michael Shanahan (St Kierans), Kevin Walsh (Askeaton-Ballysteen)

U-16 PANEL: David Ahern (Mungret), Jeffrey Alfred (Adare), Cathal  Barrington (Bruree), Shane Barry (Mungret), Eoin Bourke (St Kierans), Oisin Brennan (Newcastle West), Jack Canny (Monaleen), Michael Clancy (Claughaun), Barry Coleman (Rathkeale), Donnacha Connolly (Crecora), James Cummins (Galbally), Timmy Duggan (Crecora), James Garvey (Mungret), Joseph Johnston (Galbally), Aaron Kelly (St Patricks), Ben Kennedy (Claughaun), Liam Kennedy (St Kierans), Alan Kiely (Claughaun),  Alex Kiely (Claughaun),  Adam Lacey (St Kierans), Niall Mitchell (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Eoin Murphy (Claughaun), Michael Murphy (St Kierans), Mark White (Rathkeale), Rory O’Brien (Fr Caseys), David O’Donovan (St Kierans), James Pomery (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Mark Quinlan (Galbally), Eoin Ryan (Mungret), Michael Ryan (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Adam Shanagher (Rathkeale), Jack Sheehan (Glin), Adam Slattery (Galbally), Cian Walsh (St Senans), Evan Hudner (Effin).