Limerick rugby players chase World Cup glory

Limerick rugby players chase World Cup glory

TWO Limerick players will be chasing Junior World Championship rugby glory this Saturday evening as the Irish U-20s face England in the final of the tournament at the AJ Bell Stadium, 7pm.

Young Munster’s Ben Betts will again start at tighthead prop for Nigel Carolan’s side, while dynamic Shannon back-row Kelvin Brown is listed among the replacements.

Brown has made an impressive impact when introduced from the bench and also started Ireland group stage victory over Georgia.

Two more Munster players, centre Shane Daly and second row Sean O’Connor, are also included in Ireland’s starting line-up for the final.

Munster Academy manager Peter Malone is forwards coach with the Irish U-20s side.

Ireland scored a stunning 26-20 comeback win over England in the 6 Nations Championship earlier this season.

Ireland have defeated 6 Nations Grand Slam winners Wales, Junior World champions New Zealand, Georgia and Argentina in the semi-final to reach Saturday evening’s decider.

Speaking ahead of Ireland's first final appearance at U-20 level, head coach Carolan said: "When this group of players came together for the U-20 Six Nations earlier this year, they showed a willingness and a desire to learn and grow together as a group.

“They have put in the hard work on and off the field this season and their reward for that is this final against England.

"All the players came through the game against Argentina on Monday and we have had a good few days of preparation, so I think everyone is now just looking forward to getting the game underway."

The Under-20 final between England and Ireland will be broadcast live on TG4 and Sky Sports 1 HD.

IRELAND U-20: Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster); Matthew Byrne (Terenure College/Leinster), Shane Daly (Cork Constitution/Munster), Conor O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster), Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster); Johnny McPhillips (Queen's University/Ulster), Stephen Kerins (Sligo/Connacht); Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster), Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster), Ben Betts (Young Munster/Munster), Sean O'Connor (Cashel/Munster), James Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt), Greg Jones (UCD/Leinster), David Aspil (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Max Deegan (Lansdowne/Leinster). Replacements: Vincent O'Brien (Cork Constitution/Munster), James Bollard (Dublin University/Leinster), Adam Coyle (Naas/Leinster), Evan Mintern (Cork Constitution/Munster), Kelvin Brown (Shannon/Munster), Niall Saunders (Harlequins/Exiles), Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons/Exiles), Jimmy O'Brien (UCD/Leinster). 

ENGLAND U-20: Max Malins (Saracens); Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins), Joe Marchant (Harlequins), Johnny Williams (London Irish), Matt Gallagher (Saracens); Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints) (capt), Max Green (Yorkshire Carnegie); Lewis Boyce (Yorkshire Carnegie), Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors), Billy Walker (Saracens), Stan South (Harlequins), Huw Taylor (Worcester Warriors), George Nott (Sale Sharks), Will Evans (Leicester Tigers), Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons). Replacements: Charlie Piper (Harlequins), Tom West (Wasps), Will Stuart (Wasps), Andrew Kitchener (Worcester Warriors), Jack Willis (Wasps), Harry Randall (Gloucester), Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester).

REFEREE: Paul Williams (New Zealand)