The Limerick junior soccer teams of the season

The Limerick junior soccer teams of the season

With the season on its last leg it is time to name the 2015/16 team of the season.

Once again I must thank the large number of people who submitted their nominations for the various divisions.

This year's selection was even more difficult than in previous years with so many teams pushing for honours up to the last couple of weeks.

The scoring exploits of Aisling's Keith Mawdsley and Regional's Garbhan Coughlan before Christmas saw quite a number of people include them in their line up, but having missed more games than they played I did not consider them for selection.

As usual there were huge variations in team selections but there was near unanimity on the No 1 jersey with Gary Neville again taking the honours.

Both centre halves for Pike, Janesboro, Carew Park and Regional were nominated along with calls for John Mullane making the central defence the most challenging call of all.

In midfield there were plenty of calls for players who just missed the cut particularly Shane Walsh and Barry Dillon while up top there were strong calls for Carew Park top scorer Mark McGrath and Moyross' Barry Quinn who netted 22 goals in 27 starts for a team who finished 8th in the table but again missing out narrowly.

In a couple of instances we've taken poetic license squeezing a centre back in as a defender for example.

No doubt I have omitted players who are well deserving of a place in any team of the season. Remember these teams are only based on opinion and mine is no more valid than the next guy.

With the lower divisions, most of the selections were based on advice from managers and fans of the participating clubs.

Apologies to anyone overlooked and if you feel you should be in the side, then you're probably right!


Gary Neville (Pike Rovers), John Boyle (Janesboro), Richie Mullins (Carew Park), Pat Mullins (Pike Rvs), Mark Slattery (Carew Park), Steven Bradley (Janesboro), Wayne Colbert (Pike Rovers), Steven McGann (Pike Rovers), Shane Clarke (Janesboro), John Tierney (Janesboro), Eoin Hanrahan (Pike Rovers), Subs: Jamie Enright (Carew Park), Tom Clarke (Janesboro), Cian Collins (Pike Rovers), Arron Nunan (Janesboro), Paudie Quinn (Fairview Rangers)


Aaron Savage (Nenagh), Christy O'Connor (Newport), Dave Owens (Corbally), Mark Cahill (Nenagh), Mark McKenna (Nenagh), Jason Heffernan (Kilmallock), Mikey O'Gorman (Nenagh), James McGrath (Nenagh), Tommy Heffernan (Kilmallock), Ryan Gilmartin (Nenagh), Shane Dillon (Charleville), Subs; Brian O'Sullivan (Newport), Thomas Sheppard (Nenagh), Nathan Kelly (Nenagh), Luca Tedde (Corbally), Paul Ryan (Newport)



Kevin Purcell (Holycross), Craig Hanlon (Prospect), Sam Gleeson (Regional), Niall Hourigan (Holycross), Dean Glasheen (Prospect), Tony Burke (Holycross), Dean Coughlan (Holycross), Evan Patterson (Regional), Barry Gibbons (Southend), Trevor Hogan (Prospect), Niall O Riordan (Holycross), Subs; Pappy Kelly (Holycross), Jason Lipper (Aisling), Andy O'Neill (Holycross), Simon Delaney (Holycross), Evan Quinlan (Aisling)



Kieran McMahon (Castle Rvs), Dylan Bourke (Granville), Jack Clancy (A Villa), Jerry Flavin (Castle Rvs), Brian O'Donnell (Shelbourne), Tadhg Doran (Granville), Craig McNamara (Castle Rvs), Stephen Folan (Granville), Ger Myles (Coonagh), Raymond Kerley (A Villa), Alan Sheehan (Granville), Subs; Luke Hayes (Athlunkard Villa), Sean Buckley (Granville), David Moloney (Shelbourne), Adrian Finnan (Castle Rvs), Paul Storan(Shelbourne)



Robbie Ryan (Nenagh B), Ben Johnson (Moyross), Stephen Casey (Croom), Barry Kirby (Croom), Jonathan Power (Moyross), Trevor Morrissey (Nenagh B), Daniel Butler (Nenagh B), Stephen O'Shea (Croom), Alan Quinlivan (Moyross), John McManus (Mungret B), Oisin Fitzpatrick(Nenagh B), Subs; Tommy Martin (Nenagh B), Kieran McCarthy (Newport), Eamon O'Mahoney (Ballylanders), Arthur Mitchell (Nenagh B), Aidan Morrissey (Croom)



Mark Cronin (Meanus), James Houlihan (Meanus), Conor Hanrahan (Aisling), Eoin Hartnett (Murroe), Peadar McCarthy (Meanus), Thomas O'Donnell (Meanus), Aidan Ryan (Murroe), David Rainsford (Murroe), Shane Power (Murroe), Kevin Barry (Pallasgreen), Gary O'Connell (Meanus), Subs; Jason Daly (Aisling), Barry Woodland (Murroe), Mikey O'Donnell (Meanus), Anthony Punch (Meanus), John Ryan (Murroe)



Lee Hucker (St Pats), Rob Richardson (Athlunkard Villa), Tim Mulcahy (Croom United), Brendan O'Connor (Croom United), Rob O'Grady (Athlunkard Villa), James Ring (Athlunkard Villa), Barry Roche (Croom United), Paul O Riordan (Athlunkard Villa), Gary McInerney (Croom United), Christian Kerley (Athlunkard Villa), Jeff Foley (St Pats), Subs; Brian O'Riordan (Athlunkard Villa), Francis Moloney (Croom United), Neros Bumbillis (Croom United), Don Moore, (Athlunkard Villa)



Declan Hayes (Bruff), Mike Moloney (Bruff), Arthur Clarke (Hill Celtic), Steve Lyons (Bruff), Cecil Prendergest (Hill Celtic), William Quinlisk (Nenagh), John Kennedy (Hill Celtic), Darragh McNamara (Hill Celtic), Damien Carmello (Hill Celtic), Stephen Carroll (Newport), John Doyle (Nenagh), Subs: Anthony Quinn (Moyross), Paul Scales (Caherdavin), Jeffery O'Halloran (Moyross), Dara Hogan (Caherdavin), Brian O'Sullivan (Bruff)