Carew Park crowned league champions

Carew Park crowned league champions

Carew Park were crowned Premier League Champions for the second time in their history on Thursday evening when they did what was required of them in their final league game away to Geraldines.

With second place Pike Rovers taking full points in a 4-1 win over Moyross it meant Carew Park needed full points on their visit to the Garryowen Green and after an attentive start they went about their business in an efficient manner.  

Centre back Tommy Culhane scored a goal worthy of winning any game to send Carew Park in at the break a goal to the good.

Top scorer Mark McGrath eased the visitor's nerves with the crucial second strike ten minutes from time getting on the end of Richie Mullins cross to bundle the ball home to seal a 2-0 win and the title.

Carew last won the title in 2013 but from the first game this season showed the determination required to regain the coveted Fran Mullally trophy.