Young Munster's O'Shea is new Munster Branch President

Young Munster's O'Shea is new Munster Branch President

YOUNG Munster’s Gerry O’Shea has been elected as the 119th President of the Munster Branch of the IRFU.

O’Shea was elected to the position at the Munster Branch AGM held at Young Munster’s clubhouse in Clifford Park on Thursday night.

A native of Loughrea, Co Galway, O’Shea was a keen hurler and developed an interest in rugby at underage level where he played for De La Salle Brothers in the Schools Cup as well as his local club Loughrea RFC.

Following relocation to Limerick for career purposes, O’Shea joined Young Munster RFC in the late 70’s where he played in the back line at junior level.

His rugby interest moved off-field when he initially took up the role of Fixtures Secretary, becoming Young Munster President in 2003 while also serving Deputy Delegate to the Munster Branch.

Out-going President Bertie Smith proposed Gerry O’Shea as the new President of the Munster Branch for season 2016/17, which was seconded by former IRFU President and Munster Branch Trustee Dr Charlie Quaid.

Businessman Gerry O’Shea is married to Eileen and they have four children.

Gerry O’Shea said: “I am honoured to be President of Munster Rugby for the coming season 2016/17 and would like to take this opportunity to thank Young Munster for nominating me for this position.  My congratulations to Bertie Smith who held the position with great distinction over the past season.

“I have had a long association with rugby over the years, both as a player and at committee level, and am looking forward to representing the professional game, clubs and schools of the province to the best of my ability during my tenure as President.”

Munster Branch Officers 2016/17

President: Gerry O’Shea (Young Munster RFC)

Senior Vice President: Charlie Buckley (UCC RFC)

Junior Vice President: Ger Malone (Bruff RFC)

Honorary Secretary: Joe Murphy (Midleton RFC)

Honorary Treasurer: Tom Kinirons (UL Bohemian RFC)

Senior Club Delegates

Bruff RFC: Richard Leonard; Cashel RFC: Peter Silke; Cork Constitution FC: Greg Barrett; Dolphin RFC: Mick Magner; Garryowen FC: Jim Gibson; Highfield RFC: Mick Carroll; Kanturk RFC: P.J. Cremin; Midleton RFC: Denis Kelleher; Nenagh Ormond RFC: Sean McCullough; Old Crescent RFC: Bill Mulcahy; Shannon RFC: John Sheerin; Sunday's Well: Nicholas Comyn; Thomond RFC: Joe Shaughnessy; U.C.C. RFC: Owen Dinneen’ U.L. Bohemian RFC: Patrick Durkin; Young Munster RFC: Gerry Quaid; Junior Rep East: Bobby O'Brien; Junior Rep North: Johnny King; Junior Rep South: Jim Downey; Junior Rep West: Tim Herlihy; Youths: Nuala Hennigar ; Schools: Declan English; Munster Women: Paul Condon; Munster Referees: Eugene Ryan; Hon. Secretary North: David Kennedy; Hon. Secretary South: Muiris Mahon; Hon. Secretary Junior Committee: Olan Allen.