Pike Rovers reach Lawson Cup final

Pike Rovers reach Lawson Cup final

Pike Rovers qualified for the final of the Lawson Cup with an impressive 4-0 win over arch rivals Janesboro at a sunny Pike grounds on Sunday morning.

Pike will bring the curtain down on the season when they take on Ballynanty Rovers for Limerick's most famous Cup after a performance that saw them run Janesboro ragged for 90 minutes.

'Boro could not live with the pace of the Pike youngsters and will have no complaints with the final result.

Colin Daly was a constant thorn in the Boro side and along with Cian Collins and Shane Walsh made 'Boro look a very ordinary side.

It's been a long season for both clubs and many of the players were carrying knocks and niggles going into the tie but Pike were out of the traps quickest and kept up the tempo for most of the game.  

Pike took the lead after ten minutes when Dave Ryan won the ball midway inside the Boro half. His through ball was chased by Daly who nudged the ball past keeper Stephen Walsh to allow John Connery the simple task of finishing from close range.

Five minutes later Shane Clarke free kick was well saved by but it was Pike who doubled their lead after 25 minutes.

Colin Daly's charge through the middle saw him blocked by two 'Boro defenders but the Pike Number 10 squirmed his way through the challenge to race clear on goal and he kept his composure to fire past Walsh.

It got even worse for the visitors minutes later when superb play by Daly in midfield ended with Eddie O'Donovan crossing into the box where Dave Ryan headed in from close range.

The second half continued in much the same vein with Pike pressing.

Cian Collins lobbed the keeper but was narrowly off target followed by Pat Mullins powerfully heading into the side netting from Walsh's delivery.

John Connery fired over when put clean through and minutes later tried his luck from outside the box but again was just too high.

Neville did well to turn over a Shane Clarke free kick and Shane Walsh was in the right spot to clear off the line but Pike had the final say when Collins beat the offside trap and his ball across goal reached Connery who was given time to look up and pick out Steven McGann to blast in from point blank range to complete the rout.

PIKE ROVERS: Gary Neville; Jason Mullins; Eddie O'Donovan; Pat Mullins; Wayne Colbert; Dave Ryan; Shane Walsh; Colin Daly; Cian Collins; John Connery; Paddy O'Malley. Subs: Steve McGann

JANESBORO: Stephen Walsh; Aidan Hurley; Aled Harkin; John Boyle; Tom Clarke; Adrian Healy; Steven Bradley; Eddie Brazier; Conor Lynch; Shane Clarke; John Tierney. Subs: Rob Lowe; Jason Cross; Morgan Clancy