Na Piarsaigh create shock in Limerick SFC

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell

Na Piarsaigh create shock in Limerick SFC

NA Piarsaigh caused a shock this Sunday evening with a 2-14 to 1-13 win over Dromcollogher-Broadford in Group One of the Limerick SFC.

The round two result means that none of the 12 teams will bring a 100% record into round three, after the Summer break, on July 28-31.

Na Piarsaigh were down 1-4 to 0-2 at the mid-point of the first half with a John O’Gorman goal giving the west Limerick men an early lead.

But Na Piarsaigh were to lead 2-8 at 1-5 at half time. They had goals from Eoin Hogan (17th minute penalty) and Peter Casey (26th minute), while Alan Dempsey and Thomas Grimes had points.

In the second half Drom-Broadford battled back with points from Paul Madigan and Kevin Noonan frees, but Na Piarsaigh’s Eoin Hogan kept his aside ahead for the win.

Also this Sunday evening was a repeat of the 2014 Limerick SFC final and St Patricks were 0-10 to 0-7 winners over Ballylanders.

The city side were 0-6 to 0-2 ahead at half time with two points from Liam Quinn the highlight of the first half.

Ballylanders battled back in the second half with points from Mark O’Connell, Stephen Walsh and frees from county minor Eoin O’Mahony but St Patricks were always ahead.

Five pointed frees from John Mullane was the platform for the St Patricks win.

Meanwhile, on Saturday evening St Kierans and Oola finished level in Mungret, 0-11 to 1-8.

Both had won in round one.

Oola were 1-4 to 0-5 ahead at half time with the goal coming from Denis Moloney.

With points from inter-county hurlers Richie English and Darragh O’Donovan, Oola were on course for the win until two injury time frees from Sean McSweeney ensured the draw.