Foley successful in Limerick GAA election for Munster role

Foley successful in Limerick GAA election for Munster role

PATRICKSWELL'S Paul Foley is Limerick GAA's new Munster Council delegate after an election success at this Tuesday night’s April County Board meeting.

The former Patrickswell GAA chairman beat off competition from current Bord na nOg secertary Breda Breen of Monagea and Feenagh-Kilmeedy’s Vincent Kiely.

Foley, a senior Limerick City and County Council official, replaces Liam Lenihan as one of Limerick’s Munster Council delegate. Foley joins Feohangh-Castlemahon’s Frank Reidy as a provincial council delegate.

Foley fills the position left vacant when Liam Lenihan was elevated to Munster Council vice-chairman earlier this year.

At this Tuesday night’s County Board meeting in Claughaun there was a total vote of 89, with just four delegates absent.

The first count result was Paul Foley 39, Vincent Kiely 31 and Breda Breen 19.

The second county was Paul Foley 47 and Vincent Kiely 41.

Foley now takes his place on the 16-man management committee of Limerick GAA and his election success means that Patrickswell (joining chairman Oliver Mann) are the only club with two members at the top table.