Limerick FC bow out of Munster Senior Cup

Limerick FC bow out of Munster Senior Cup

Limerick FC boss Martin Russell

LIMERICK FC’s reign as Munster Senior Cup champions ended with a 1-0 semi-final defeat to Cobh Ramblers at Saint Colman’s Park on Tuesday night.

A 22nd minute goal from 26-year-old Swede Markus Gustavsson was enough for Ramblers to edge past the Blues and secure a place in the decider.

Limerick FC manager Martin Russell included new signing Aaron Greene from the start, while John O’Flynn and Shaun Kelly were on the bench for the first time this season. Former Blue Shane O’Connor captained the home team.

Limerick FC continue their preparations for the new SSE Airtricity League Premier Division season with a friendly fixture against Premier Division Galway United at the Markets Field on Saturday, 6.30pm.

The Blues kick off their promotion bid with a home tie against UCD at the Garryowen venue a week later, March 5, at 6.30pm. 

COBH RAMBLERS: Eoghan Daly, Adam O’Sullivan, Andy O’Connell, David Curran, Shane O’Connor (Capt), Cian Kingston, Stephen Griffin (Graham McCarthy HT), Jason Abbott, Evan Galvin, Ian Mylod, Markus Gustavsson (Rob Lehane 67). Unused Subs: Paul Hunt (GK), Christopher McCarthy, Anthony O’Donnell, Charlie Fleming, Kyle McNamara.

LIMERICK FC: Freddy Hall, Shane Costelloe, Paudie O’Connor, Robbie Williams, Shane Tracy, Shane Duggan (Capt), Paul O’Conor, Lee-J Lynch, Ross Mann (Garbhán Coughlan 62), Chris Mulhall, Aaron Greene. Unused Subs: Tommy Holland (GK), Clyde O’Connell, Killian Brouder, Colm Murphy, Shaun Kelly, John O’Flynn.

REFEREE: David Keeler (Cork).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.