UL shock Queens to reach Sigerson Cup semi final

UL shock Queens to reach Sigerson Cup semi final

UL have advanced to the semi final of the Sigerson Cup for the first time in 19 years.

This Thursday afternoon they shocked James McCartan’s Queens University Belfast to book a semi final spot against UCD.

The final score in the UL GAA grounds was UL 0-12, Queens 1-8.

UL started with Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Danny Neville (Ballysteen) and Kevin Moore (Glin) in their line-up. Introduced as subs were James Naughton (St Senans) and Paul White (Rathkeale.

The Brian Carson managed UL raced into a 0-8 to 0-0 lead after 14-minutes with Moore among the scorers.

In ideal conditions it was 0-8 to 0-2 at half time.

The lead was out to seven points early in the second half but then came the Queens fightback.

Half time sub Brendan Bradley and Martin Clarke led the way.

It was Down inter-county star Clarke that got the 46th minute goal.

With 12-minutes to play the game was level 0-11 to 1-8.

But it was fitting that the winning score came from UL corner forward Bryan O’Shea.

From Kerry’s Dr Crokes, O’Shea finished with 0-8 – 6 frees. The winning free came in the 58th minute after UL had failed to score in the previous 17-minutes.

The semi final will take place in University of Ulster Jordanstown, who are the host university for the final weekend on February 19-20.

SCORERS: UL: Byran O’Shea 0-8 (6frees), Kevin Moore 0-2 (1free), Ruairi Deane and Aidan Rowan 0-1 each. Queens: Martin Clarke 1-2 (0-2frees), Brendan Bradley 0-4 (3frees), Brendan Burns and Rory Corrigan 0-1 each.

UL: Colm O’Driscoll (Cork); David Larkin (Wexford), Cathal Long (Kerry), Patrick O’Connor (Kerry); Aidan Rowan (Longford), Denis Daly (Kerry), Fergal Boland (Mayo); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks, Limerick), Ruairi Deane (Cork); Danny Neville (Ballysteen, Limerick), Shane Killoran (Roscommon), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West, Limerick); Ian Burke (Galway), Kevin Moore (Glin, Limerick), Byran O’Shea (Kerry). Subs: James Naughton (St Senans, Limerick) for Shane Killoran (44mins), Cian O’Dea (Clare) for Cian Sheehan (52mins), Paul White (Rathkeale, Limerick) for Aidan Rowan (61mins).

QUEENS:  Jonathan Deeney (Down); Greg McCabe (Armagh), Che Cullen (Fermanagh), Brendan Burns (Tyrone); Niall Delargy (Antrim), Shea Heffron (Armagh), Michael Monan (Down); Henry Brown (Down), Aaron Morgan (Down); Rory Corrigan (Fermanagh), M Clarke (Down), Dermot McAleese (Antrim); Ryan Murray (Antrim), Gerard McGovern (Down), Brendan Rogers (Derry). Subs: Brendan Bradley (Antrim) for Michael Monan (h-t), Conor Martin (Armagh) for Dermot McAleese (46mins), Rory Wells (Down) for Henry Brown (53mins), Anthony Doherty ((Antrim) for Martin Clarke, b-c (56mins).

REFEREE: Shane Hehir (Galway).