O'Mahony double helps Munster see off Treviso

O'Mahony double helps Munster see off Treviso

MUNSTER signed off from the Champions Cup for this season with a comprehensive 28-5 bonus point victory over a hapless Treviso side at Stadio Monigo on Sunday.

Munster's slim hopes of progressing to the quarter-finals had disappeared with pool results elsewhere over the weekend, so Anthony Foley's charges had nothing more than pride to pay for.

Munster produced a mixed diaply in their final Pool 4 fixture, with their enterprising approach ha 

Munster outscored their opponents by four tries to one, with winger Ronan O'Mahony helping himself to a brace, while prop Dave Kilcoyne and scrum-half Conor Murray also touched down.

Munster had led 14-5 at half-time.

The visitors made the perfect start when winger O'Mahony glided through the Treviso defence to score in the fifth minute after scrum-half Murray took the ball off a maul. Keatley converted for 7-0.

Munster added a second try in the 17th minute when Dave Kilcoyne burrowed over from close range to score his fifth try in European competition. Keatley added the extra for a 14-0 lead. 

Munster looked to run the ball from deep from the first whistle, aimin to add to their points tally against opponents who are seriously lacking in confidence. However, Munster were guilty of forcing things which resulted in promising moves breaking down.

After Billy Holland was sin-binned following a Treviso maul, the home side's flanker Marco Lazzaroni burrowed his way over the tryline following another maul.

Munster, who led 14-5 at half-time, added a third try in the 48th minute when Conor Murray sniped through a gap following a line-out inside the Treviso '22 before touching down. Keatley added his third conversion to give the visitors a 21-5 lead.

Munster secured the bonus point in the 68th minute when O'Mahony scamapered clear to bag his second try of the game.

SCORERS: Benetton Treviso: Marco Lazzaroni  try. Munster: Ronan O'Mahony two tries, Dave Kilcoyne, Conor Murray try, Ian Keatley con, con, con, con

BENETTON TREVISO: Jayden Hayward; Andrea Pratichetti, Enrico Bacchin, Alberto Sgarbi, Simone Ragusi; James Ambrosini, Alberto Lucchese; Matteo Zanusso, Ornel Gega, Simone Ferrari, Marco Fuser, Jean-François Montauriol, Marco Lazzaroni, Alessandro Zanni (capt), Braam Steyn. Replacements: Tom Palmer for Montauriol, Davide Giazzon for Gega, Alberto de Marchi for Zanusso (all 49 mins), Tommaso Iannone for Ragusi (51 mins), Marco Barbini for Lazzaroni, Samuel Christie for Bacchin (both 63 mins), Salesi Manu for Ferrari (63 mins), Luke McLean for Ambrosini (68 mins).

MUNSTER: Simon Zebo; Keith Earls, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoye, Mike Sherry, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland, Tommy O'Donnell, CJ Stander (Capt). Replacements: James Cronin for Kilcoyne (49 mins), Jack O'Donoghue for Stander (53 mins), Robin Copeland for Holland, Niall Scannell for Sherry (both 64 mins), Mark Chisholm for Foley, Gerhard van den Heever for Scannell (both 69 mins), Tomas O'Leary for Murray, Mario Sagario for John Ryan (both 74 mins).

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz (France)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.