Young Munster claim Charity Cup final glory

Young Munster claim Charity Cup final glory

Young Munster turned up the heat in the second half to defeat Old Crescent in the Sporting Limerick Charity Cup Final on a score line of 30-10 in Thomond Park on Thursday night.

An eagerly contested first half saw Young Munsters race into a 10-0 lead with a Griesal penalty and a converted Gavin Ryan try.

Old Crescent responded with a converted Guilfoyle try and a long range Larry Hanly penalty to go in at the break level at 10-10.

Munsters came out a different side in the second half and two lineout maul tries in five minutes broke Old Crescent’s resistance.

The addition of two more tries in the final ten minutes was a tad harsh on Crescent who put in a good shift but in the end it was Young Munster that claimed the silverware.

SCORERS – Young Munster: Gavin Ryan, Alan Ross, Evan Ryan, Cian Clohessy and Darragh O’Neill. Abrie Griesal – conversion and penalty; Old Crescent: Brendan Guilfoyle – try; Larry Hanley – one penalty and one conversion

OLD CRESCENT: Kevin Meade; Marty Ryan, Brian Tuohy, Larry Hanly, Stephen O’Carroll; Shane O’Brien, Rory Cunningham; Seaghan Gleeson, Cathal O’Reilly, Alex Simpson; Kevin Doyle, Padraig Monaghan; Sean Monaghan, Tevita Tali Toia, Brendan Guilfoyle. Replacements: Darragh O’Brien for O’Reilly (78min), Shane O’Connell, Jack O’Neill for P Monaghan (13 mins), Karl Hanley for Tali Toia (53min), Paul McNamara for Meade (60min), David Egan, Cathal Monaghan.

YOUNG MUNSTER: Michael Vaughan, Jack Harrington, Craig O’Hanlon, Diarmuid McCarthy, Darragh O’Neill, Abrie Griesel, Gary Fitzgerald, Gavin Ryan, Ger Slattery, Evan Ryan, Mike Madden, Sean Duggan, Tom Goggin, Alan Ross, Yason Browne. Replacements: Shane Fenton for Slattery (53min), Paul Allen for E Ryan (48min), Peter Meyer for G Ryan (48min), Darren Gallagher, Darren Ryan for A Ross (48min), Elle Mundo for E Ryan(74min), Cian Clohessy for O’Hanlon (63min).


- For a full report and pictures see the Monday print edition of the Limerick Leader