Limerick hurlers continue unbeaten start with Cork win

Limerick hurlers continue unbeaten start with Cork win

LIMERICK made it two wins from two in the Munster Senior Hurling League with an impressive 3-17 to 0-18 win over Cork in Mallow on Sunday afternoon.

Goals at regular intervals were crucial for TJ Ryan’s men as Graeme Mulcahy, Declan Hannon and Darragh O’Donovan found the net in front of an attendance of 1,185 in the north Cork venue. 

They rallied an early second half storm and scored 2-7 in the final 25 minutes, playing into the stiff wind to put them into a good position ahead of two games in the coming days against Waterford (Tuesday) and Clare (Sunday) both in the Gaelic Grounds.

The visitors led by seven at the break (1-11 to 0-7) after playing with a strong breeze. After Pa Cronin opened the scoring for the Rebels, Limerick hit five  points on the bounce with Declan Hannon (3), Cian Lynch and Graeme Mulcahy getting on the score-sheet.

Limerick were much the better side in the opening exchanges and when Graeme Mulcahy found the net, they led 1-7 to 0-3.


SCORERS: Limerick: Declan Hannon 1-9 (0-5 frees, 0-1 ‘65), Graeme Mulcahy 1-2; Cian Lynch 0-3, Darragh O’Donovan 1-0 David Reidy, Paul Browne, Pat Ryan 0-1 each. Cork: Paudie O’Sullivan 0-8 (0-6 frees, 0-1 ‘65) Patrick Cronin 0-4, Conor Lehane, William Leahy 0-2 each, Patrick Horgan, Paul Haughney 0-1 each

LIMERICK: Barry Hennessey; Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey, Richie English; Seanie O’Brien, Barry O’Connell, Seamus Hickey; James Ryan, Pat Ryan; Darragh O’Donovan, Cian Lynch, David Reidy; Thomas O’Brien, Declan Hannon, Graeme Mulcahy. Subs: Richie McCarthy for Dan Morrissey (45mins); John Fitzgibbon for Thomas O’Brien (45mins); Paul Browne for Graeme Mulcahy (61mins); Wayne McNamara for Barry O’Connell (61mins), John Riordan for James Ryan (67mins)

CORK: Anthony Nash; Pat O’Sullivan, Patrick O’Mahony, Conor O’Sullivan; Shane O’Neill, Conor Twomey, Niall Cashman; Paul Haughney, Cathal Cormack; Dean Brosnan, Paudie O’Sullivan, Patrick Cronin; Luke Meade, William Leahy, Conor Lehane. Subs: Patrick Horgan for Luke Meade (h-t); William Egan for Dean Brosnan (45mins); Cormac Murphy for Pat O’Sullivan (56mins); Damain Cahalane for Cathal Cormack (63mins), Patrick Rourke for William Leahy (65mins).

REFEREE: Thomas Walsh (Waterford)

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.