Brudair confirms new Limerick football panel

Limerick football manager John Brudair has named his panel for the early part of the season
LIMERICK football manager John Brudair has confirmed his initial 2016 inter-county panel.

LIMERICK football manager John Brudair has confirmed his initial 2016 inter-county panel.

Brudair and selectors Mike Fahy and Declan Brouder include six new faces in the 28-man panel.

In total 18 different clubs are represented – nine senior, five intermediate and four junior.

Limerick SFC winners Newcastle West lead the way with four players, while Drom-Broadford and St Kierans have three each. Ballylanders, Oola and Na Piarsaigh are the only senior clubs without representation at present.

Into the panel come Paul White, Paul Hannon, Sean McSweeney, Sean Flanagan, Mike Donovan and Tommy Childs.

While 28 players are confirmed for the coming weeks, the panel remains open-ended with injured duo Killian Phair and Jamie Lee not included and Tom Lee is yet to return.

Among those from 2015 that are not included are Robert Browne (in Abu Dhabi), John Riordan (hurling commitments), Stephen Lucey (retired), Micheal Brosnan, Mike Lyons, Pakie Moran, Sean Barrett, David Ward, Jason Mullins and Killian Ryan.

There are returns for Paudie Browne and Stephen Kelly.

Limerick will be captained by Iain Corbett for 2016 with Ian Ryan and Gearoid Hegarty as joint vice-captains. Limerick play Waterford in round two of the McGrath Cup in Rathkeale on January 17. This weekend the panel have a challenge game against UCC.

PANEL: Iain Corbett, Stephen Kelly, Paul Hannon, Cian Sheehan (all Newcastle West), Johnny McCarthy, Darragh Treacy, Sean McSweeney (all St Kierans), Seanie Buckley, Garrett Noonan, Cillian Fahy (all Dromcollogher-Broadford), Donal O’Sullivan, Colm Moran (both Monaleen), Pa Ranahan, Danny Neville (both Ballysteen), Ian Ryan, James Naughton (both St Senans), Brian Scanlon (Gerald Griffins), Paudie Browne (Fr Caseys), Sean Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Paul White (Rathkeale), Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins), Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Mike Donovan (Galbally), Tommy Childs (Galtee Gaels), Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Kevin Moore (Glin).