Key changes to Limerick GAA officials

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Limerick Football Committee Chairman John Cregan
LIMERICK GAA officials have unveiled a number of new-look county committees for 2016.

LIMERICK GAA officials have unveiled a number of new-look county committees for 2016.

The Limerick Football Committee and County Bord na nOg are getting overhauls.

Both new committees will assume control after the December 14 Annual Convention in Rathkeale.

Both committees were elected in the past but are now filled by the County Board executive.

Long serving duo Colette O’Grady and Pat O’Shaughnessy depart their football roles, while Brian Kelly steps down after serving his five years as PRO.

Limerick Football chairman John Cregan has paid tribute to those departing.

“It is only right that their contribution to Limerick football be marked. Their dedication and commitment were second to none,” said Cregan.

Glin’s Pat O’Shaughnessy has served for 15 years on the board in a variety of roles.

“Thankfully Pat is to stay on with roles in the backroom teams of the senior and U-21 footballers,” explained Cregan.

“Colette O’Grady has served as both secretary and PRO and will be an big loss to the board. But she is not leaving Limerick football because she is to continue to work with the underage set-up,” said the chairman of the Mungret official.

While Na Piarsaigh’s Kelly also departs he too is to remain involved, due to his work in the Gaelic Grounds on matchday.

In-coming officers are Dave McGuinness, Jacqueline O’Connor and John O’Grady.

Elsewhere at Bord na Nog level, there is a new PRO and assistant-secretary, with Doon’s Jack O’Connell and Ahane’s Mary Hassett joining.

FOOTBALL COMMITTEE: Chairman: John Cregan (Dromcollogher-Broadford); vice-chairman: John Galvin (Croom); Secretary: David McGuinness (Pallasgreen); assistant-secretary: Jacqueline O’Connor (Athea), Development Officer: Gerry Phillips (Monagea); PRO John O’Grady (Oola).

COUNTY BORD NA NOG: Chairman: Denis Carroll (South Liberties); vice-chairperson: Breda Butler (Killeedy); Secretary Breda Breen (Monagea); assistant-secretary: Jack O’Connell (Doon); Treasurer: Philip Dee (Murroe-Boher); PRO: Mary Hassett (Ahane).