O’Connor overlooked for U-21 job

Despite winning the Munster U-21 championship, Leo O’Connor has been overlooked to remain in his post.

Despite winning the Munster U-21 championship, Leo O’Connor has been overlooked to remain in his post.

A special County Board meeting is scheduled for this Thursday night to ratify the county minor and U-21 hurling managements for 2012 and O’Connor’s name won’t be recommended to continue for another season.

LeaderSport understands that former Na Piarsiagh goalkeeper John Fitzgerald is to replace O’Connor.

Fitzgerald managed the Adare senior hurlers this season and previously managed Murroe-Boher.

He is to be joined by selectors former Limerick captain Ollie Moran (Ahane) and Natal O’Grady (Patrickswell).

O’Grady was a member of Ger Hegarty’s minor management team in 2009 and has also worked with Ardscoil Ris Dr Harty Cup teams in recent seasons.

It is understood that Leo O’Connor was interviewed for the 2012 manager position and that Natal O’Grady was the only candidate nominated by the clubs for the role.

However, it was within the remit of the sub committee to select a manager outside of those nominated by clubs.

The appointments committee consisted of the three main officers of Limerick GAA; Liam Lenihan (chairman), Mike O’Riordan (secretary) and Owen Hayes (treasurer) with Shane O’Neill (Na Piarsaigh) and John R Walsh (Doon).

As well as O’Connor and O’Grady, also interviewed were former Limerick senior hurling selector TJ Ryan and John Fitzgerald.

Meanwhile, Shane Fitzgibbon is to be proposed to remain in charge of the county minor team for another season.

The Adare man will be joined by selectors Ger Cunningham (Knockainey) and Mike Galligan (Claughaun).

Fitzgibbon wasn’t among the candidates nominated by the clubs with just Anthony Carmody (Patrickswell) and Denis Carroll (South Liberties) put forward.

Carmody, Carroll and James Moran formed the U-17 management team this season that won an All-Ireland tournament.

Similar to the U-21 situation, the appointments committee (Mike O’Riordan, Joe McKenna and Eibhear O’Dea, Mick McDonnell and Tony Roche) had the power to select from outside those nominated.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.