Limerick Soccer - Seventh heaven for Balla

Pat Sheehan rounds up the action from last week’s LDMC games where the standout result was Ballynanty’s 7-0 win over Corbally in the Munster Junior Cup.

Pat Sheehan rounds up the action from last week’s LDMC games where the standout result was Ballynanty’s 7-0 win over Corbally in the Munster Junior Cup.

A sending off after eight minutes ended any hopes Corbally had of getting the better of Ballynanty Rvs in this Munster Junior Cup tie on Sunday.

Corbally were rocked on their heels when Jimmy Fyffe was red carded for a professional foul on Tiny Fahy after 8 minutes and worse was to follow as Dermot Fitzgerald fired an unstoppable shot from 25 yards giving Adrian Duhig no chance.

Balla doubled their advantage on 27 minutes when Shane Guerin lobbed the keeper and an own goal made it 4-0. Alex Purcell raced through the heart of the Corbally defence to make it 5-0 and second half strikes by Jason Hughes and Dermot Fitzgerald completed the rout.

Corbally Utd: Adrian Duhig; Dave Kinsella; Darren Hanley; Jimmy Fyffe; Glen Carroll; Ian O’Donoghue; Ian Dunworth; Barry Hartnett; Ken Nealon; Ben Savage; Byron O’Neill. Subs: Darren O’Sullivan; Ronan Sherlock

Ballynanty Rovers: Paudie Hickey; David Dunphy; Shane Doran; Tom Daly; Dermot Fitzgerald; Alex Purcell; Jason Hughes; Brian Doran; Shane Guerin; Frank Lee; Tony Fahy. Sub: Bobby Griffin

Carew Park 6 Charleville 0

Premier League leaders Carew experienced few difficulties seeing off the challenge of Charleville.

Jamie O’Sullivan proved Carew’s hero with three well taken goals while Pat Boyle, Gary Griffin and John Boyle were also on the mark for the winners.

Carew Park: Ronan Power; Gary Griffin; Francis Kett; Mark Slattery; Mark Keane; Cyril Maher; John Boyle; Pat Boyle; Jon Somers; Jamie O’Sullivan; Jonathon Grant. Subs not used: Brian Aherne; Stephen Grant; Craig McMarlow

Janesboro 6 Shannon Hibs 0

Shannon Hibs held ‘Boro scoreless to the break but fell apart in the second half as the winners tacked on six without reply.

Shane Waters scored twice for the winners with Christy Doyle, Dave Roche, Shane Clarke and David Donnan also netting.

Janesboro: David McNamara; Wayne O’Donovan; Aled Harkin; Pat McGarry; Lee O’Mara; Shane Waters; David Donnan; Aidan Hurley; Dave Roche; Conor Lynch; Christy Doyle. Subs not used: Shane Clarke; Adrian Healy

Newport 5, Hyde Rangers 1

Newport progressed to the last 32 of the competition with a 5-1 win at home to Hyde Rgs, courtesy of Sean O’Brien, Brian O’Sullivan (2), Blane Lenihan and Dave Murray.

Caherconlish 1, Prospect Priory 0

A goal from Brendan Hourigan gave Caherconlish passage over Prospect Priory.

Geraldines 4 Regional Utd 1

There was just one Premier game surviving the weather with Geraldines posting a 4-1 win over a strong Regional XI.

Donie Curtin’s inswinging free kick put ‘Dines ahead and then Eddie Lee scored to double the lead.

Derek Hannon made it three before the break and while Shane O’Connor reduced the deficit after the break, Curtin scored his second to seal the issue.

Geraldines: Keith McCarthy; Paul Fitzgerald; Danny O’Neill; Tom O’Grady; Ian Storan; Eddie Lee; George Daffy; Donie Curtin; Jamie McMahon; Derek Hannon; Christy O’Neill. Subs; Brian Nash; Derek Daly

Regional Utd: Rob Shier; John O’Leary; Mike Reidy; David Cowpar; Ian Hughes; Mike Aherne; Kieran O’Connell; Shane O’Donoghue; Peter Nash; Danny Galvin; Shane O’Connor. Subs: Jack Molyneaux; Danny Colbert; Darren Naughton

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.