Limerick Soccer - Carew Park march on in FAI Junior

Pat Sheehan rounds up the weekend soccer action where the standout result was Carew Park’s impressive 7-2 win over Moyross in the FAI Junior Cup.

Pat Sheehan rounds up the weekend soccer action where the standout result was Carew Park’s impressive 7-2 win over Moyross in the FAI Junior Cup.

PREMIER League leaders Carew Park reached the out of town stages of the FAI Junior Cup when they beat Moyross rather comfortably at Carew Park on Sunday morning.

The scoreline does not do justice to the efforts of Moyross but in truth the gulf between Premier and Division 1A was highlighted over the 90 minutes.

Moyross starting brightly but were a goal behind after ten minutes after Jamie O’Sullivan showed burst past two defenders before firing home from 10 yards.

The sides were back on level terms on thirty minutes when Ronan Power’s attempted clearance was blocked by Ger Cronin and rebounded into the net.

Moyross’ joy was short lived however as Carew were back in front within minutes courtesy of a long range effort by Pat Boyle.

Carew upped the tempo in the second half made it 3-1 when the Moyross defence hesitated and Grant passed to the overlapping John Boyle to fire home.

Jonathon Grant headed in from close range to make it 4-2 but Moyross pulled one back when Grant Murphy crossed to the back post where Ger Cronin headed home.

Moyross were reduced to ten men and Carew took full advantage adding further goals by Pat Boyle, Grant and Mark Slattery, who netted after a wonderful run by Cyril Maher.

Carew Park - Ronan Power; Gary Griffin; Francis Kett; Mark Slattery; Mark Keane; Brian Aherne; John Boyle; Pat Boyle; Jon Somers; Jonathon Grant; Jamie O’Sullivan. Subs: Cyril Maher; Stephen Grant; Jamie Kelly

Moyross - Kevin Lynch; Ronan Ryan; Grant Murphy; Ken McNamara; Pat McCallig; John Cunningham; Colm O’Mahoney; Barry Quinn; Pat Roche; Ger Cronin; Keith Colbert. Subs: Anthony Lee; Cyril Cleary

Fairview Rgs 0 Summerville 0

(Fairview won 4-2 on penalties aet)

Following a heavy defeat to Pike Rvs in the Munster Junior Cup in recent weeks, Summerville Rvs’ pride was crying out for another chance to prove themselves.

Pitted against Fairview Rgs in the FAI on Sunday gave them the perfect opportunity and they did just that bringing the Premier side to as penalty shoot out before bowing out.

Indeed the Div 1A side could well have snatched it had Jamie Stewart not saved from former Fairview player Robbie Kelleher late in the game. Having said that Fairview also had chances to win the game in normal time through Colin Scanlon and Damien Moloney’s effort smacked off the crossbar.

In extra time Fairview were also guilty of squandering good chances but in the resulting penalty shoot out Fairview keeper Jamie Stewart saved two spot kicks to see the FAI specialists through.

Fairview Rgs - Jamie Stewart; Damien Moloney; Richie Mullins; Mike Ryan; John Mullane; Shane Power; Craig Reddan; Colm Heffernan; Lucca Tedde; Darren Nolan; Colin Scanlon. Subs not used: Mark McGrath; Craig Madigan; Dean McNamara

Lisnagry 1 Regional Utd 2

A waterlogged pitch in Castleconnell saw this one switched to Dooradoyle at the last minute.

Home advantage did have a huge impact on proceedings as the Premier side struggled to brush aside the challenge of a dogged Lisnagry XI.

Regional went in front on 30 minutes when Kieran O’Connell played Willie Griffin in to score from close range.

Lisnagry responded to going behind in the best possible fashion and levelled the Cup tie through top scorer Paudie Byrnes.

An injury to Byrnes thwarted the visitors challenge but they still proved a tough nut to crack.

Peter Nash struck the winner 20 minutes from the end when he volleyed in from Shane O’Doherty’s cross.

Regional Utd - Robert Shier; David Cowpar; John O’Leary; Jack Molyneaux; Ian Hughes; Mike Aherne; Shane O’Doherty; Kieran O’Connell; Peter Nash; Willie Griffin; Shane O’Connor. Subs not used: Paudie Walsh; Danny Colbert

Mungret Reg 3 Shannon Hibs 1

DIVISION 1A side Mungret Reg progressed to the open draw beating Premier side Shannon Hibs.

Scoreless at the break Des O’Donoghue broke the deadlock when he fired home from the edge of the box.

However, that lead goal didn’t last too long.

Bryan McGorrian replied for Shannon Hibs to level the scores shortly after direct from a free kick but O’Donoghue scored his and Mungret’s second from the spot after a handball.

With Shannon Hibs chasing an equaliser in this competitive Cup tie, Pat O’Donoghue struck the clinching goal after fine work from Gary Long.

Mungret Reg - Keel Moloney, Rob Horgan, Gary Long, Alan Finucane, Alan Connors, Ger Burke, Richie Burke, Barry Danagher, Neil O’Callaghan, Marcus Finucane, Des O’Donoghue, Res; Pat O’Donoghue, Jack O’Donovan, Eugene McNamara.


Geraldines 1 Carew Park 3

A HIGHLY entertaining Tuohy Cup game in midweek went the way of the Premier League leaders as Carew beat Geraldines 3-1

Jon Somers put Carew Park ahead but just before the break Derek Hannon headed in the equaliser for ‘Dines.

A 25 yard “screamer” from Mark Keane restored Carew’s lead after the break and then Geraldines missed a glorious chance to level failing to convert a spot kick.

With five minutes remaining Jonathon Grant showed how it’s done when he expertly scored from the penalty spot to secure Carew’s passage to the next stage after a smashing Cup tie.

Geraldines - Keith McCarthy; Paul Fitzgerald; Danny O’Neill; Tom O’Grady; Ian Storan; Bobby Tier; Jamie McMahon; Christy O’Neill; Eddie Lee; George Daffy; Derek Hannon. Subs: Richie Flynn; Derek Daly

Carew Park - Ronan Power; Francis Kett; Craig McMarlow; Mark Slattery; Mark Keane; Kyle McCarthy; Pat Boyle; John Boyle; Jon Somers; Jonathon Grant; Stephen Grant.

Subs: Jamie O’Sullivan

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.