Janesboro claim Tuohy Cup to end 22-year wait

JANESBORO won the Jack Tuohy Cup on Friday evening when they beat Corbally Utd 3-0 in the decider at Jackman Park. It was the first cup success in 22 years.

JANESBORO won the Jack Tuohy Cup on Friday evening when they beat Corbally Utd 3-0 in the decider at Jackman Park. It was the first cup success in 22 years.

The game promised much and while it did showcase a number of excellent individual performances, it never really produced the excitement needed to please the large crowd in attendance.

Not that Boro will be complaining as they picked up their first silverware since 2007 in a game in which they never looked like losing.

Corbally Utd, stepping out in their first Premier final, gave it their all and if effort was the yardstick for success then they would be well in the hunt. However Janesboro had that little bit of guile that is needed to get over the line.

The Athlunkard side will have learned from the experience and with such a young side you can be assured it will not be their last final appearance.

While Mike O’Gorman will take the plaudits for an excellent two goal performance it was Shane Waters who had Corbally in a tizzy throughout.

The Boro wingers speed of foot is dizzying and the number of free kicks in dangerous areas he won for his side must have been in double figures.

The Boro back four also excelled restricting the Corbally front runners to scraps.

Corbally were not overawed by the occasion and early on matched Boro in most regards.

Their passing left them down at times but they were up for the physical battle.

Ronan Sherlock and Fearghal O’Connell were in the thick of the action while Barry Heffernan and Barry Hartnett also put in fine shifts.

Boro were quick out of the traps and Wayne O’Donovan’s inswinging corner kick on six minutes was heading for goal but for Fearghal O’Connell’s clearance off the line but O’Donovan retuned the ball into the area where Thomas Clarke, outstretched, just failed to make the required contact.

A minute later Shane Clarke was fouled on the edge of the Corbally area and his brother Thomas forced Corbally keeper Adrian Duhig to make a fine save diving low to turn away at the expense of a corner.

At the other end Fearghal O’Connell had two efforts for Corbally, neither testing the keeper while at the other end Keith McNicholas set up Shane Waters with a clear chance but the winger proved he is fallible firing over from 12 yards.

Janesboro broke the deadlock midway through the half when an excellent run by O’Gorman ended when he played a one two with Shane Clarke and went on to complete the move firing in from an acute angle.

David Donnan went close after a surging run and another foul on Waters gave Aled Harkin the chance to test Duhig but the keeper came up with another fine save.

Before the break a clearance from a Corbally corner saw the lively Glen Carroll let fly with a long range effort that whizzed inches past the post.

Corbally began the second half with more purpose but found the final Boro line to tough to break through although a snap shot from Sherlock was not too far off target.

An injury to Jason O’Brien did not help the cause and when a attempted free kick by Sherlock was intercepted by Donnan, Shane Clarke was put clear but a brilliant save from Duhig kept Corbally in the game.

The reprieve was temporary however and on the hour mark O’Gorman took off on another of his deceiving runs that took him into the area where his shot beat Duhig with the help of a deflection.

As if things were not bad enough for Corbally, Boro made a substitution bringing on the bang in form Conor Lynch and following the laws of attraction, the strikers first touch saw him head past Duhig with the clincher.

Shane Clarke was denied a late goal by Carroll’s goal line clearance and the Corbally keeper made a superb save to deny Lynch late on.

Accepting the trophy from the Tuohy family after the game, Boro captain Tom Clarke heaped praise on the management team of Shane O’Hanlon, Daithi O’Donoghue, Dave Brown and Derek Braddish as well as a sporting and gracious Corbally Utd XI.

Janesboro - John Ryan, Wayne O’Donovan, Aled Harkin, Wayne Colbert, Tom Clarke, David Donnan, Thomas Lyons, Mike O’Gorman, Shane Waters, Shane Clarke, Keith McNicholas, Reserves, Conor Lynch, Patrick Stanislewski, Lee O’Mara,

Corbally Utd - Adrian Duhig, Glen Carroll, Shane Cox, Barry Heffernan, Barry Hartnett, Ian O’Donoghue, Ronan Sherlock, Jason O’Brien, Fearghal O’Connell, Dave Morris, Ken Nealon, Reserves, James Ryan, Ian Dunworth

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.