Meelick/Parteen Jan 11

Meelick GAA: Stephen Hayes, Meelick’s newly elected PRO said “The Club has got down to business following the recent AGM and the Juvenile AGM was held this week and a players meeting was held last week”.

Meelick GAA: Stephen Hayes, Meelick’s newly elected PRO said “The Club has got down to business following the recent AGM and the Juvenile AGM was held this week and a players meeting was held last week”.

Club Chairman Declan Sherlock appealed to all the players to work together and get back to basics with discipline, behaviour and command the respect of the honest decent players that they are. He urged them to put any personal differences aside and work together in a united front and restore the pride in Meelick Hurling. He said “we expect to have a team manager appointed very shortly and we will be ready to move into the new season with pride and enthusiasm”.

Principal Retires: Glowing tributes have been paid to Philip Lavin who retired as principal of Parteen National School at the end of the year. Mr Lavin spent all his teaching life in Parteen and became principal some years ago. He was very highly respected during his long service in Parteen. Parish priest Father Tom Carroll said “He will be a big loss, he was an excellent teacher and administrator very fair who never sought the lime light. He was respected by pupils, parents and teachers. He was a thorough gentleman and he will be sadly missed.”

Mr Lavin carries with him the good wishes and gratitude of the entire community for a long and happy retirement.

Parteen GAA Lotto: Lotto draw took place on Sunday 5th Jan for a jackpot of €20,000 at Daggers Blackwater Inn. The numbers drawn were 1, 12, 15 & 30. No overall winner. Lucky dip winners were: Jamie Lynch, c\o Meelick Tavern; The Conlon Family, Castlebank Ardnacrusha; Caroline O’Riordan, Firhill Parteen; Ger Mulconroy, c\o Flashs Bar Parteen; Mrs. Timling, Ogonnelloe and Paraic Conlon, Castlebank, Ardnacrusha. Next weeks’ draw takes place at The Meelick Tavern on Sunday 12th Jan for a jackpot of €20,000.

Parteen GAA: At the AGM of Parteen/Saint Nicholas GAA Club held in December Brian Mc Sweeney became the new chairman, Ned O Connor is treasurer and Chris Ryan secretary.

An intermediate manager is expected to be appointed shortly and another project for 2014 will be phase two of the Clubs development when they will seek to raise funding for the new clubhouse extension. New members are always welcome at the club.

Milford Hospice: The Committee of the recent Gathering of the friends of Father David Browne made on behalf of the Committee by Fr.Browne sister Cassie.

The chairman of the committee Tony Keogh thanked everybody who helped in any way to make the function such a success and everybody was happy that the money raised was going to Milford Hospice, where Father Browne spent his final weeks. He said it is a great tribute to the esteem in which Father Browne was held that so mant people turned up to the Function considering it is over 50 years since he first came to the Parish.

Storms: Once again the danger of the trees on the roadside at the Old Delmedge Estate was highlighted during the recent high winds where some of the trees fell on to the roadway and could have caused serious accidents.

These trees are a matter of concern for a long number of years as they are growing in an area which is subject to intense flooding which many residents feel weakens the route structure. It is understood that representations will be made to the City Council to make the area safer.

Meelick GAA Elect Officers: There was a fine attendance at the Annual General Meeting of Meelick Club held at the Clubhouse on Sunday. Newly elected Chairman Declan Sherlock appealed to members to work together and put personal differences aside and get back to basics with improved discipline and behaviour from honest decent players to command the respect needed in todays GAA world. He and other delegates praised the work of previous Chairman Conor Dolan who stood down during the year and to Mike Mulvihill outgoing secretary who did not seek reelection. Stephen Hayes was elected PRO.

Tributes were also paid to Oisin Hickey on winning his second All Ireland Under21 Medal, which should act as encouragement to other players.

The following Officers were elected: president James Quinn, vice president Mary Dillon and John Joe Bateman, chairman Declan Sherlock, vice chairman Jim White, secretary Padraig O’Brien, Treasurer Seamus Spaight, Assistant Treasurer Cyril Finnucane, Registrar Bobby Sherlock, PRO Stephen Hayes, School Liason Officer Mike Sherlock. Pat O’Rourke was elected Junior and under 21 Football Manager. Coaching Officer Mike O’Brien. Delegates to County Board are Declan Sherlock and Padraig O’Brien.Bord na nOg Darragh Knox and Jim White, Football Board Mike Kelly.

The positions of Intermediate Hurling Manager and Irish Officers will be filled by the Committee and the Club Juvenile AGM will be held shortly.