A NEW set of signs detailing the history of a part of the city are to be erected in the coming weeks.
Henry Street man Randal Hodkinson, of J Hodkinson and Sons Ecclesiastical directors, has for the last few months, been studying the history of Little Barrington Street, a laneway which runs behind St Joseph’s Church in O’Connell Avenue.
Although the area is small, it contains a rich history, and Randal has just unveiled the first of five signs giving a recollection of the early days of Barrington Street and its surrounds.
This goes from the building of the first houses in 1840, with the laneways following afterwards.
“What we have done here is shown the progress of the building work in the laneway from the large houses to the artisan cottages built in the centre. What sets this laneway apart is the amount of cottages built. There were 32 cottages built in this area alone. They were all family houses. But even in the 1901 census, there over 200 people living in those cottages,” he explained.
The signs also highlight the former site of an observatory. The other signs, being erected over the coming weeks, will focus on School House Lane and its residents, including Frank McCourt, and the building of the Baptist Church among other things.
Subscribe or register today to discover more from DonegalLive.ie
Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.
Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.