Search our Archive


Feb 9

Broadford NOTES

Broadford NOTES

Church News: Mass in Broadford for the month of February 2013 will be on Saturday evening’s at 7.30pm and on Sunday morning’s at 9.30am. Reader fir Saturday evening February 9th is Marion Brosnan and on Sunday morning its Seamus O’Suilleabhain. Eucharistic Ministers for Saturday evening are Helen O’Mahony and Deidre McCarthy and on Sunday morning its Bernadette Moloney and Teresa Morrissey.

Broadford Parish Clerks Collection: The annual Church Clerks collection in Broadford will be taken up on the week-end of February 9th and 10th at all masses. Please show your appreciation for the commitment given week in week out by the church clerk and your generosity will be appreciated.

Enrolment to Broadford National School: Applications for Enrolment in Scoil Mhuire National School Broadford are now being accepted for September 2013. Application forms are available from the school; phone no 063/84214 or E-mail to Closing date for applications is Wednesday 6th February 2013.

Active Retirement: The Broadford and District A.R.A. weekly meeting on Monday February 11th at 7.30pm in the Day Care Centre Broadford will include a talk on health issues given by a representative of the H.S.E and also the completion of Annual General Meeting business. Everybody welcome.

Friday night Dancing: The Sean Nos and other forms of dancing continue every Friday night in the Community Centre Broadford at 7.30pm. Come along and enjoy a great evening of fun.

Mackey Stand Draw: The local Dromcollogher/Broadford G.A.A. is promoting the Limerick Club Development Draw formally known as the Mackey Stand Draw again this year and local promoters are: Seamus Lordan, Denis O’Carroll, Kieran Ryan, Charlie Butler, Tom McLoughlin, Tommie Reidy and John Cregan. The first draw takes place on the 8th March and on first Friday of each month afterwards. There are attractive prizes each month;- 1st €15,000, 2nd €5000, 3rd €2000, 4th €1000, 5th to 8th each worth €500, 9th to 28theach worth €250. There are also special prizes in April and June for two All-Ireland hurling tickets and in May and July for two All-Ireland football tickets plus B+B and evening meal on the Saturday night prior to the finals in Jury’s Croke Park Hotel. The local club is again seeking your continued support and with 50% of all monies collected from the draw staying within the club it is one of our main sources of income for the year. Contact our promoters now and new members welcome.

G.A.A. Lottery: There was no winner of the €4,500 jackpot on Monday January 21st at the Neenans Bar. The numbers drawn were 1, 6, 10 and 14. The lucky dips prizes of €50 each were won by Anna Kara Courtney Newcastle West and Maisie Grennan Carraward. The jackpot goes to €4,600 and the Match 3 is €150. All sold tickets to be handed in at the clubhouse on Monday evenings before 9o’clock. Tickets are available from any member of the committee or from all business premises, tickets €2 each or three for a €5.

Victory Social:-The Dromcollogher/Broadford G.A.A. victory social will be held in the Hall Dromcollogher on this coming Saturday February 9th.With three County titles and two West titles won in 2012 it is advisable to book your ticket early. Dinner and dance will be €25. Music by John Ahern.The county titles won were (1) The County Senior football under the management team of Mike Fahy, Ben Noonan and Jorome Stack, where our boys defeated the cream of Limerick football on their way to victory, such as Ballylanders, Monaleen, Ballysteen, St. Senans, Galbally, Fr. Casey’s and Newcastle West in an epic county final which went to a replay and extra time. (2) The Under 21 hurlers under the management team of Gerry Madigan, Seamus Lordan and Tom McLoughlin captured the West and County titles in the “B” championship defeating St. Kieran’s, drew with Strand and defeated Granagh/Ballingarry in the West Final, they continued their winning way’s defeating Croom in the county simi-final and Michael Cusack’s in the final. (3)The minor hurlers under the management of John Stack, James Noonan and Pat Lordan won West and County titles defeating St David’s, Rathkeale/Ardagh and Tournafulla in the West final. They defeated famed Ahane in the county simi-final and Monaleen in the county final. It promises to be a great night of celebrations, so book early and don’t be disappointed.

Parent and Toddler Group: the parent and toddler group meet every Thursday in the daycare Centre Broadford from 10:30 to 12 noon. This is an opportunity for parents, grandparents and carers to meet and chat while the children play in a safe environment. All welcome.

Handball: John Noonan and Denny McCarthy have won their way to the Munster finals (which will take place in Galbally) with wins over Cork opposition recently while Seanie Murphy lost out to Kerry and Anthony Donnelly lost to his Clare opponent in the singles but they have an opportunity to gain revenge when they team up in the doubles and travel to Glenbeigh to play Kerry in the simi-final. The ladies senior tournament which was held last week-end saw the titles going to Catriona Casey Cork who defeated Martina McMahon, Fiona Tully Roscommon edged out Aoife Holden Kilkenny in a trilling Under 16 final and in the Under 14 final local girl Katie McCarthy was unlucky to lose to world champion Sinead Maher Tipperary., The local club are to be complemented in organizing the tournament and thanks to Margaret Murphy and Annie Murphy for the catering and Hannah and Denis McCarthy for sponsoring the tournament.

Handball Club Draw:- The winners of the final draw of the Handball Club’s annual fundraising draw were:-

€500 Tomas and Tommie Reidy Tullaha, €200 Kathleen O’Sullivan Dromcollogher P.O. and €100 Brian, Laura and Yvonne Stack Springfield, €100 Philip Cussen Mount Plummer, €100 Con Noonan Tullaha and €100 Simon Lenihan Killeedy. The club wish to thank everybody for their support.

Cards at Neenans: The winners of the weekly 45 card drive at Neenans on Monday night were Tim Burke Knockglass and Monica Neenan Boola. Second were Timmy Murphy Springfield and Davy Daly Tullylease. Spot prize winners were Martin Flynn Bunoke and Ellen O’Connor Mt. Plummer. Raffle winners were 1st €35 Pat Gilbourne Kilmeedy, 2nd €20 Timmy Murphy Springfield and 3rd €10 Helen Sheedy Knockaerick.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.