Reduction in Limerick councillors confirmed

The newly merged City and County Council will have 40 seats
THE new Limerick City and County Council will have 40 councillors, it has been confirmed.

THE new Limerick City and County Council will have 40 councillors, it has been confirmed.

Ahead of next year’s local elections, the boundary commission has recommended that there will be 21 councillors in three new ‘city’ constituencies, with the remaining 19 in ‘county’ areas.

According to the recommendations - which Minister Phil Hogan says he will implement in full - the current ward of City North will be combined with part of the current City East area, taking in St Mary’s Park, Corbally and Rhebogue. Six councillors will be elected to serve this area.

The remainder of City East and some of City South, including Singland, and Roxboro are to be extended to take in Castletroy, Annacotty, Castleconnell and Montpelier. This ward will see eight councillors in place.

The rest of City South - including the city centre - are to be combined with Dooradoyle, Raheen, Mungret and Patrickswell. Seven councillors will be elected here.

Meanwhile, in the county, there will be a further three electoral areas: Adare and Rathkeale, which will return six councillors. Cappamore and Kilmallock will see seven members. And the Newcastle constituency, covering Newcastle West, and the areas will be a six-seater.

The constituencies will comprise of the following areas:

* NORTH: The former City North, St Mary’s Park, Corbally and Rhebogue, bounded by the Dublin Road

* EAST: The remainder of the former City East ward, Singland, Roxboro, Castletroy, Annacotty, Castleconnell, and Montpelier, bounded by the Hyde Road.

* WEST: The city centre, parts of the current City South area, Dooradoyle, Raheen, Mungret, Clarina and Patrickswell, bounded by the Hyde Road

* Adare and Rathkeale

* Cappamore and Kilmallock

* Newcastle

Welcoming the new boundaries, Labour city councillor Tom Shortt said: “Personally, I am looking forward to canvassing on the Corbally and Rhebogue areas. The northside has not been too badly affected. It has not been carved up: we hold what we have, and gain in my case an area with a strong Labour base.”

Currently, Limerick City Council has 17 councillors, while Limerick County Council has 28 members. This means there will be a reduction of five seats at next year’s local election, which is expected to take place in May 2014.

Follow the Limerick Leader on Twitter for the latest updates.

To see the full report click here

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.