University of Limerick honours top alumni

Anne Sheridan


Anne Sheridan

UL alumni: Dr Edmond Harty, Dolores Halpin-Bachmann and Aongus Hegarty with their awards from UL. Picture: Alan Place
THE UNIVERSITY of Limerick has honoured three of its “outstanding graduates” at the annual UL alumni awards gala dinner.

THE UNIVERSITY of Limerick has honoured three of its “outstanding graduates” at the annual UL alumni awards gala dinner.

Entrepreneur Edmond Harty, humanitarian Dolores Halpin-Bachmann and business leader Aongus Hegarty were honoured at the eighth annual awards night.

UL president, Professor Don Barry said the three award recipients “continue to build on the prestige of this institution, and that is one of the things of which we are most proud”.

“You are among those who give inspiration to our students and ambition to our graduates. The alumni awards illustrate every year that ambition is worth having. Each of our recipients is respected and successful in their field and this success stems from the pursuit of excellence matched with the UL spirit. I warmly congratulate Edmond, Dolores and Aongus on their awards,” said president Barry.

Limerick-born and raised, Aongus Hegarty serves as president of Dell for Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA) and he received the outstanding contribution to business award.

Aongus graduated from UL with a Bachelor’s Degree in business studies in 1989, and joined Dell in 1999.

Dr Edmond Harty, from Co Kerry, is the CEO and technical director of Dairymaster, one of Ireland’s most successful indigenous technology companies and is now a world leader in technology for dairy farming. A graduate of mechanical engineering in 1997, he received the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year last year.

A chartered engineer and a Fellow of Engineers Ireland, Edmond has also completed a PhD where he focused on the area of milking performance.

Dolores Halpin-Bachmann, from Tipperary, is an emergency response leader with Caritas International.

Between 2008 and 2011, 130 Caritas emergency appeals totalling €337.8m were launched for programmes in support of 14.4 million disaster-affected people across 53 countries.

Since its inception in 2006, 23 UL alumni have been honoured at this awards celebration including rugby legend Tony Ward, composer Patrick Cassidy, former Riverdance star Jean Butler, former CEO of the Kentz Corporation Hugh O’Donnell, Beoing Commercial Engineer of the Year Dr Pio Fitzgerald, former All-Ireland Kerry Footballer Pat Spillane and former Chief of Staff of the Irish Defence Forces, the late Lt. Gen. Dermot Earley.