07 Dec 2021

Cllr Kathleen Leddin elected 817th Mayor of Limerick

We did it! Cllr Kathleen Leddin, with her proposer Cllr John Gilligan (right) and seconder Cllr Joe Leddin. Cllr Tom Shortt watches on [Picture: Michael Cowhey]
INDEPENDENT councillor Kathleen Leddin has been elected the 817th Mayor of Limerick.

INDEPENDENT councillor Kathleen Leddin has been elected the 817th Mayor of Limerick.

On a dramatic night at City Hall, which saw inter-party agreements collapse, and Fine Gael councillor Pat Kennedy vote against his own party nominee, Cllr Leddin secured the chains by nine votes to eight.

Fine Gael had been confident that their candidate, city east councillor Denis McCarthy would become the last mayor of this council.

But the three members of the Labour party dumped a pact they signed with Fine Gael last year, with Cllr Joe Leddin instead seconding his aunt for the role after Cllr John Gilligan’s nomination.

And when Cllr Pat Kennedy voted against his own Fine Gael party, it all but sealed the chains for Cllr Leddin.

It was a case of fifth time lucky for Cllr Leddin, who has been runner-up for the position as recently as last year when she lost out to Cllr Gerry McLoughlin, the beneficiary of a Labour-FG pact.

For more information, pictures and reaction, see the Limerick Chronicle newspaper, plus the Limerick Leader Wednesday tabloid, and weekend editions.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.