Limerick make two changes to minor hurling team to play Galway

Limerick minor hurling team
THERE are two changes to the Limerick minor hurling team to play Galway in Sunday’s All Ireland MHC quarter final.

THERE are two changes to the Limerick minor hurling team to play Galway in Sunday’s All Ireland MHC quarter final.

The Leo O’Connor managed and Anthony Daly coached Limerick play Galway in Thurles at 12noon ahead of the two All Ireland senior quarter finals.

Limerick and Galway meet for the third successive year at minor level and are battling for an August 9 semi final spot against Kilkenny in Croke Park.

There are two new faces in the Limerick line-up from that which lost the Munster final to Tipperary, 0-20 to 0-17.

Kilmallock’s Oisin O’Reilly and Killeedy’s Cian Magner Flynn both come in for their first starts of the campaign, although both did see time as substitutes during the course of the four previous games.

Out go Brian Ryan and Tom Hayes and there are also a number of positional switches.

Limerick are operating with an extended panel of 34 players at present.

A total of 25 players have seen game time during the Munster championship with 19 earning starting roles prior to Sunday.

A total of 12 of the players were part of Brian Ryan’s panel that contested the All Ireland final last September in Croke Park.

The current squad is drawn from 17 different clubs with eight senior clubs and three junior clubs included.

It is a squad that is captained by Eoghan McNamara with Peter Casey the vice-captain.

LIMERICK: Eoghan McNamara (Doon); Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), Conor McSweeney (South Liberties), Jack O’Grady (Knockainey); Conor Byrnes (Murroe-Boher), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh); Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), Darragh Carroll (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Barry Murphy (Doon), Mikey Mackey (Adare), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Cian Magner Flynn (Killeedy). Subs: Adam O’Brien (Ahane), Column Carroll (Ahane), Conor Boylan (na Piarsaigh), Ciaran O’connor (Kilmallock), Tom Hayes (Doon), Paudie Ahern (Killeedy), Willie O’Meara (Askeaton), Darren O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Brian McPartland (Doon).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.