Limerick intermediate hurling panel finalised for Clare clash

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Limerick intermediate captain Willie Griffin
LIMERICK’S intermediate hurling panel has been finalised for their May 24 Munster IHC clash with Clare.

LIMERICK’S intermediate hurling panel has been finalised for their May 24 Munster IHC clash with Clare.

The provincial quarter final has a 2.00 start in Thurles as the curtain-raiser to the senior Shannonside clash.

Managed by Don Flynn, Limerick rely heavily on last season’s panel, which was involved in a thrilling 3-17 to 1-22 extra time encounter with Tipperary.

Eleven players who saw action in that game backbone this season’s 31-man panel.

Bolstering the options are a host of few faces likes Munster minor hurling championship winners; Richie English, Darragh O’Donovan, Colin Ryan, Sean Finn and Michael Casey.

In total eight of the panel will be eligible for the Limerick U-21 panel under John Kiely later in the Summer with the likes of Barry O’Connell, Kevin O’Brien and Diarmuid Byrnes supplementing the recent minor winners.

The intermediate panel also includes three players who were part of TJ Ryan’s senior set-up this time last year - Mark Carmody, William Hickey and Tommy Quaid. Indeed another trio has have former Munster SHC experience - Brian Murray, Mike Fitzgerald and Denis Moloney.

Like last year Limerick’s intermediate team is managed by Don Flynn with John Lacey as team coach. There are new selectors in Ray Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Declan O’Grady (Patrickswell) and Maurice Nelligan (Kilmallock).

The Limerick team will be captained by Adare’s Willie Griffin with Andrew Brennan of Caherline as vice-captain.

Like their senior counterparts the intermediates will be bidding to reach a June 21 semi final against Tipperary in the Gaelic Grounds.

LIMERICK PANEL: Brian Murray (Patrickswell, David McCarthy (Glenroe, Cathal McNamara (Doon), Denis Moloney (Doon), Mike Fitzgerald (Doon), Richard English (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Mark Carmody (Patrickswell), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Andrew Brennan (Caherline), Gary Murphy (Caherline), Brendan Hourigan (Caherline), William Hickey (South Liberties), David O’Neill (South Liberties), Shane O’Neill (South Liberties), Barry Lynch (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Colin Madden (Bruff), Sean Finn (Bruff), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), John Ryan (Cappamore), Mike Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Willie Griffin (Adare), Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Kieran Larkin (Croom), Tommy Quaid (Effin), Paudie Leahy (Blackrock).