Limerick intermediates in Munster hurling final action

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Mike Fitzgibbon, Limerick corner forward
THE Limerick hurlers go in search of just a fourth ever Munster intermediate hurling title this evening.

THE Limerick hurlers go in search of just a fourth ever Munster intermediate hurling title this evening.

Limerick play Cork in Pairc Ui Rinn at 7.30.

After wins over Clare and Tipperary, Cork stand between the men in green and a first title since 2008.

Tonight’s winner advances to the August 8 All Ireland final against Galway or Wexford.

Killeedy’s Don Flynn is the Limerick manager.

“The lads are well up for it,” he reports.

“They have improved all the time - the Clare game, then a challenge game against Kilkenny and then the Tipperary game. If there is another improvement it will be close,” explained Flynn.

“Any chance that you get to win a Munster medal has to be grabbed and we know that its a big honour to be playing in a Munster final.”

Flynn and selectors Declan O’Grady, Ray Ryan and Maurice Nelligan have named an unchanged side from the semi final win over Tipperary.

“We have a nice mix with experience and players who have won at minor level in the last two or three years,” outlined the manager.

The bookies make Limerick the 8/15 favourites.

“Cork are Cork - they have a lot of good hurlers but you can’t let them play. We have a good work rate and I would be hoping that we will close them down. We know that they scored 0-17 to beat Waterford and they scored over 30-points in a recent challenge game,” said Flynn.

“Our lads are confident in their own ability - we have a lot of work done and now it will really come down to getting a performance on the night. I we perform to our best we will be there or there abouts.”

Adare’s Willie Griffin captains Limerick this evening.

LIMERICK: Brian Murray (Patrickswell); Sean Finn (Bruff), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Mike Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca); Denis Moloney (Doon), Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Barry Lynch (Feohanagh-Castlemahon); Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen), Andrew Brennan (Caherline); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Mark Carmody (Patrickswell); Willie Griffin (Adare), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon).

CORK: Paudgie Buckley (Mallow); Barra Ó Tuama (Castlemartyr), Ed Finn (Ballinhassig), Greg Murphy (Newcestown); Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline), Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig), Tomas Lawerence (Brian Dillons); Martin Brennan (Fermoy), Shane McCarthy (Ballinhassig); Willie Leahy (Aghada), Michael Collins (Ballinhassig), Luke Meade (Newcestown): Noel McNamara (Kilworth), Fintan O’Leary (Ballinhassig), Tony Murphy (Carrigaline).