Limerick senior footballers beaten by Tipperary

John Galvin, Limerick, in action against Brian Fox, left, and Philip Austin
THE Limerick senior footballers were beaten 2-14 to 1-11 this Saturday evening by Tipperary in the quarter-final of the Munster SFC.

THE Limerick senior footballers were beaten 2-14 to 1-11 this Saturday evening by Tipperary in the quarter-final of the Munster SFC.

The win in the Gaelic Grounds was a firrt in 10-years for Tipperary.

John Brudair’s Limerick must now wait for the backdoor qualifiers.

Tipperary were up 1-7 to 0-6 at half time after playing against the wind.

Despite having the advantage of the wind Limerick had only a 33rd minute Ian Ryan point from play as they relied on Ryan and Eoin Hanrahan for scores from frees.

At the other end, the crucial Tipperary goal came in the 10th minute when Barry Grogan finished coolly to the net from close range after Donal O’Sullivan attempted punch clearance caused confusion in the Limerick goalmouth.

That green flag had Tipp 1-2 to 0-2 clear.

By the 16th minute the lead was increased to 1-5 0-2.

Limerick hit back, but with 10-minutes to play in the half it was 1-7 to 0-4.

But with the introduction of John Galvin and John Riordan Limerick finished the half on top with Ian Ryan points from play and from a free leaving the deficit at four points.

In the second half Tipperary had a Philip Austin goal after two minutes to lead 2-8 to 0-6.

After seven minutes of the second period they were 2-11 to 0-7 clear.

There was slight reprieve for Limerick in the 25th minute of the second half when Eoin Hanrhan goaled from a penalty.

Points from Ger Collins and Iain Corbett spurred Limerick forward but there was to be no late dramatics.

Barry Grogan eased Tipp to the winning line with a margin of six points to spare at the end.

SCORERS: Limerick: Eoin Hanrahan 1-4 (1-0pen, 0-3frees), Ian Ryan 0-4 (3frees), Darragh Treacy, Iain Corbett, Ger Collins 0-1 each. Tipperary: Barry Grogan 1-4 (3frees), Philip Austin 1-2, Peter Acheson 0-2, Conor Sweeney (free), Michael Quinlivan, Colin O’Riordan, George Hannigan, Brian Fox, Robbie Kiely 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen); Colm Moran (Monaleen), Johnny McCarthy (St Kierans), Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Iain Corbett (Newcastle West), Stephen Lucey (Croom), Paudie Browne (Fr Caseys); Tom Lee (Balllanders), Darragh Treacy (St Kierans); Micheal Brosnan (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Seanie Buckley, captain (Dromcollogher-Broadford); Eoin Hanrahan (St Patricks), Ger Collins (Monaleen), Ian Ryan (St Senans). Subs: John Riordan (Fr Caseys) for Cian Sheehan (27mins), John Galvin (Croom) for Micheal Brosnan (27mins), Pa Ranahan (Ballysteen) for Paudie Browne (39mins), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks) for Darragh Treacy (53mins).

TIPPERARY: Paul Fitzgerald; Ger Mulhair, Paddy Codd, Ciaran McDonald; Colin O’Riordan, Robbie Kiely, Peter Acheson; Steven O’Brien, George Hannigan; Philip Austin, Ian Fahy, Brian Fox; Conor Sweeney, Michael Quinivan, Barry Grogan. Subs: John Coughlan for Ciaran McDonald, bc (10mins), Brian Mulvihill for Ian Fahy (55mins), Seamus Grogan for Steven O’Brien (56mins),

Cathal Dillon for Philip Austin (68mins).

REFEREE: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).

See the print editions of the Limerick Leader for a full match report and reaction.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.