Limerick v Tipperary Munster intermediate match preview

There was a busy day of Limerick GAA club action this Saturday
TLIMERICK 2007 All Star goalkeeper Brian Murray will captain Limerick in this Munster intermediate hurling championship encounter with Tipperary.

TLIMERICK 2007 All Star goalkeeper Brian Murray will captain Limerick in this Munster intermediate hurling championship encounter with Tipperary.

Murray was this Tuesday named in the team to play in the traditional curtain-raiser to the senior clash in Thurles on Sunday (2.00).

Limerick’s team is managed by Don Flynn (Killeedy) with selectors Jimmy Carroll (Hospital-Herbertstown), Tom Ryan (Ballybrown), Pat Howard (Old Christians), Tony Roche (Blackrock).

The team trainer is John Lacey (Killeedy) with Lasion Officer Pat Heffernan (Blackrock).

Given the proximity of the Munster IHC and the Munster U-21 clash against Clare in the Gaelic Grounds on Wednesday June 4, there are no U-21 players included in the intermediate plans.

Manager Don Flynn explained that they had to make a decision on the U-21s from the outset.

“We spoke with the U-21 management and just felt to give both teams the best chance to prepare that we would use players from 21-26. We all want what’s best for Limerick and focusing on two big games was not ideal,” explained Flynn.

“Overall I would be happy with the depth of talent that is out there. I would have to say that we have got great commitment from these players to training with John Lacey and for games. Of course there were some who felt they couldn’t give the commitment but all those on our panel of 32 at the moment have been great and shown great interest.”

Games against Cork and Wexford intermediates, the Meath seniors and a host of club sides helped preparations.

Limerick are bidding to stop Tipperary completing a hat-trick of wins in head-to-heads in the competition.

“Tipperary won the All-Ireland two years ago and reached the final last year - they will be picking from the two of those panels so we know that they will be good,” outlined the Limerick boss.

Six of last year’s team are included in the panel - Michael Reidy, Jason Hayes, Cathal McNamara, David O’Neill, Paudie Leahy and Willie Griffin.

Doon’s McNamara was part of the Limerick senior set-up during this season’s league but joined up with the intermediate’s when the senior panel was reduced.

Others that have recently been involved with county senior panels are Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell), Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher) and Mark O’Connell (Glenroe).

Included in the subs are Doon’s former inter-county duo Mike Fitzgerald and Denis Moloney.

“There is no doubt that there are players in our panel that feel they could be on the senior panel and what better chance for them to prove themselves than to play below in Thurles on Sunday,” said Flynn, who explained that his side began preparations in March.

LIMERICK: Brian Murray (Patrickswell), John Ryan (Cappamore), Mike Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Jason Hayes (Bruff); Peter Ryan (Dromin-Athlacca), Andrew Brennan (Caherline), Cathal McNamara (Doon); Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell), Mark O’Connell (Glenroe); Kevin Palmer (Blackrock), Brendan Hourigan (Caherline), David O’Neill (South Liberties); Padraic Barron (Knockainey), Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Willie Griffin (Adare). Subs: Seamus Murphy (Templeglantine), Liam Hurley (Kilmallock), Paudie Leahy (Blackrock), Ritchie Ryan (Ahane), Pat Gleeson (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Noonan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Mark Deegan (Hospital-Herbertstown), Mike Fitzgerald (Doon), Denis Moloney (Doon).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.