Roundup up of all the weekend Limerick GAA action

Keelan Stephenson celebrates his goal for St Patrick's during his side's Limerick SFC semi-final win over Fr Casey's at the weekend
St Patrick’s and Ballylanders will meet in the Limerick SFC final following their semi-final wins over the weekend.

St Patrick’s and Ballylanders will meet in the Limerick SFC final following their semi-final wins over the weekend.


St Patrick’s 1-9 Fr Casey’s 0-9

St Patrick’s will contest the Limerick SFC final for the first time in 47 years after a surprise 1-9 to 0-9 victory over a fancied Fr Casey’s side.

A Keelan Stephenson goal with just three minutes left on the clock sealed the victory for the Rhebogue based club.

Pat’s, who will be looking to end a 60-year drought since they last won the title, were helped in no small part by the accuracy of Eoin Hanrahan and Jason Mullins.

Ballylanders 2-10 Drom-Broadford 0-12

Two goals from Danny Frewen helped Ballylanders knock out defending champions and three-in-a-row chasing Drom-Broadford in Rathkeale.

Frewen’s first goal, in the ninth minute, gave the south Limerick side the early initiative.

Six pointed frees from Kieran O’Callaghan and three points from play courtesy of Eoin Walsh helped the men from the Galtee Mountains progress to their first final since 2008.


Pallasgreen 1-13 Galbally 0-9

Galbally will be playing Intermediate football in 2015 after a seven point defeat in a heated battle in Bruff.

Aidan Shanahan got the goal for the east Limerick side, who were reduced to 14 men when Eddie Mulcahy was shown a red card for a dangerous tackle.

County hurler James Ryan left the field due to injury (which will concern sister club Garryspillane) and Galbally struggled without their star player.

The result ends the south side’s four-year stay in the senior ranks.


Na Piarsaigh 1-9 Cappamore 0-9

An Aaron Costelloe goal secured Na Piarsaigh’s spot in the IFC final after a narrow victory over a brave Cappamore side.

The Caherdavin club led 0-7 to 0-2 at the break but a second half rally from Cappamore was almost enough.

St Senan’s 3-13 Mountcollins 4-6

St Senan’s won a seven-goal thriller over Mountcollins in the other semi-final.

In a high scoring contest between the teams relegated in the last two years, it was competition favourites Senan’s who prevailed for their sixth win on the bounce,


Claughaun 4-10 Gerald Griffins 0-5

Gerald Griffins were relegated to the junior ranks after suffering a 17=point drubbing to Claughaun in Askeaton.

Griffins were spared relegation last year after receiving a walk over from Croom in the play off.


Castletown-Ballyagran 3-15 Staker Wallace 2-8

Castleown-Ballyagran made it three south titles on the bounce after a comfortable 13 point victory over Staker Wallace.

Goals from Aidan McAuliffe, Barry McElligot and Thomas Stack secured the easy win for Ballyagran, who were captained by former Limerick and Adare legend Mark Foley.


Na Piarsaigh 0-18 Patrickswell 1-12

Na Piarsaigh’s great season across the grades and codes continued as they sealed the city JHC title with a three-point win over Patrickswell.

The Caherdavin side led 0-12 to 1-5 at half time and were able to hold onto the win in the second half at the Gaelic Grounds.

Na Piarsaigh now play Staker Wallace in the quarter-final while Patrickswell take on Castletown-Ballyagran.